Skip to Main Content
Library Home

Social Work

This page contains a list of article databases that cover topics related to Social Work.

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Social Work Article Databases

Use the following databases to find articles. If you need help using the databases see the Guides & Tutorials tab.​ For a complete list of all of the Library's article databases, go to the A-Z List of Databases.

  • Psyc­INFO Best Bet

    Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and related disciplines.

  • Sage Knowledge: Social Work Video Best Bet

    Watch practitioners showcase skills, explore different client groups, and elevate understanding of how theory and policy relate to practice.

  • Census Data
    • No password required

    The Census Bureau's data access point, including current data (back to 2010) from the decennial census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and more.

  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text

    Full text nursing and related health discipline journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, drug records, and clinical trials.

  • ClinicalKey

    Scholarly research from 500+ journals, books, clinical condition overviews, patient education, videos, and more, covering every medical and surgical specialty.

  • DSM-5-TR

    The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 is the standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals worldwide to promote reliable research, diagnosis, treatment and patient care.

  • Education Source

    Offering full text of journals, books, videos, and education-related conference papers, as well as millions of citations. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

  • ERIC (via EBSCOhost)

    The world's largest source of education information. More than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, some linking out to full text.

  • Films on Demand

    Streaming video library with over 38,000 documentaries, lectures, and historical primary source videos, covering a wide range of academic subjects.

  • GenderWatch

    Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government, and special reports that focus on how gender affects a broad array of subject areas.

  • LGBTQ+ Source

    Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. Specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

  • MEDLINE with Full Text

    Scholarly research covering all aspects of biomedicine including nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

    Descriptive information, references, and critical reviews of tests in psychology, education, business and leadership; a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially-available English-language tests currently in print.

  • PsycArticles

    Full-text articles published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycInfo.

  • Psychology (Gale)

    Academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

  • Psychotherapy.net

    Streaming videos show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.

  • Psychotherapy.net (Alexander Street)

    Training videos created by and for psychotherapists, with reliable, detailed instructions for serving diverse populations and addressing therapeutic issues.

  • PTSDpubs

    Citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health responses to traumatic events.

  • SAGE Journals

    Full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.

  • ScienceDirect

    Hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.

  • SocINDEX with Full Text

    Sociology research, including closely related areas of study. Full-text journal articles, plus abstracts for core journals back to 1895.

  • Wiley Online Library

    Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences.  UW System funds the ebooks that are included.

Find the Full Text

To access the full text of an article from Research@UWW, select Download PDF, View Online,  or Online Access. If those options are not available, select the  Find It button to see if we have access to it via a different database or interlibrary loan.

Use the Journals search to find out whether we have access to a particular journal or magazine:

screenshot of journal search button on library homepage

Off-Campus Access

The first time you select the link(s) under View Online, a database name in the list of databases, or follow a link to an article we have access to, you'll be prompted to log in with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.

If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The most common solutions are: 

  1. Clear your cache and cookies
  2. Use Virtual Apps/ Citrix (step by step instructions). Connect directly: gateway.uww.edu
  3. Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network)

Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to UW Request, ILL/Document Delivery, and other options.

Set up Google Scholar

While Google Scholar does not provide the wide variety of search limiters available in other databases, you may find that you are able to locate that elusive article through a Scholar search.

Don't pay for articles from Google Scholar!

If you are working off campus and searching Google Scholar, you may find that Google asks you to pay for many articles. Don't pay! Follow these steps to activate FIND IT at UW Whitewater in Google Scholar. If you are working on campus using UW-W Wi-Fi services, or using UW-W VPN services from off campus, your computer should automatically detect these settings.

How do I set up Google Scholar to link to UW-Whitewater subscriptions?

1. Go to http//:scholar.google.com

2. Optional: Sign in to your Google account in order to save your preferences for future searches.

3. Select the "more" option, then select the Settings button (the gear icon):

Screenshot of setting up Google Scholar

4. Click Library Links at the left of the page. Type University of Wisconsin Whitewater in the box and select Search. A checkbox option for UW-Whitewater--Find It @ UWW will appear below your search. Check the box. You may also keep Open WorldCat checked as a connection. Don't forget to click Save.

Screenshot of setting up Google Scholar

5. You will now see the Find It at UW-W link on your search results pages in Google Scholar, indicating to what we have subscriptions: 

Screenshot of setting up Google Scholar

For some books and resources, the Find It at UW-Whitewater link appears in the >> More menu below the item. The link is called ReQuest it@UW-W:

Screenshot of setting up Google Scholar

6. After clicking on Find It or Request It, you may be prompted to log in with your UW-W NetID and Password to gain access to UW-W resources.

I did all that. Google's still not giving me access to the article. Now what? 

Even if we don't have a subscription to that particular article, request it for FREE via Interlibrary Loan. It takes a few days, but usually the article PDF can be sent to you from another library that subscribes. 

Can I search everything using only Google Scholar?

NO! Google Scholar does not interlink with all UW-W ebooks and articles. We strongly encourage that you search for books, media and more using the library catalog (Research@UWW), or search for specific journal subscriptions using the Journals search. We also recommend that you search individual, subject-specific databases as well as Google Scholar to find the best available sources of information on your topic.