PsycINFO can help you find articles that include sample test items or entire tests. These are reported in the record as "Appended."
When tests are marked as appended, they may contain sample items in the text of the paper or as an appendix. Open up the full-text to find the items in the text or the appendices.
Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes
Check this site to see if the test you want may be part of a compilation volume. This handy website from the University of Texas, Arlington, lists all the tests and measures available in 130 compilation volumes (and counting). As of this writing this includes 12,000 measures both published and unpublished. For any compilation volume that looks promising to you, check Research@UWW to make sure we have it. If we do not have the book you need, you might see that another UW System school owns the book. If another UW school has the book, you can order it through Universal Borrowing. If no UW school has the book you can order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Freely-available tests and measures are often hard to find. If you cannot find a copy of the measure you need you may be able to order it from the publisher. Use the resources in the next box to find publisher information, test price, and availability.
Books
Test Critiques
This work provides a brief introduction to each test as well as information on its application, technical aspects, and finally, a critique. Entries are accompanied by a lengthy list of references. These books are organized alphabetically by test title and are indexed by title, publisher, author/reviews, and subject.
Location: Reference Collection, 2nd Floor Call Number: BF176 .T419 1984
Tests
This work aims to provide users with concise descriptions and basic information (no reviews) of assessment instruments in psychology, education, and business. Population, purpose, format, scoring, publisher, author, and cost information are provided for each entry. Also provided are indices of publishers, authors, and test titles. The book is organized by subject (i.e. motor skills, academic aptitude, etc.)
Location: Reference Collection, 2nd Floor Call Number: BF176 .T43 2008
Journal articles are often another good way to get reviews and information on tests and measurements. The databases listed in the Find Articles tab are useful resources for finding this type of information. Useful search terms include your particular area of interest (i.e. "depression") and "tests" or "measures" or "measurements" or "assessment."
Published tests are usually reviewed to give practitioners and researchers brief descriptions of tests and measurements. The reviews often contain other information such as contact information for the publisher, validity and reliability, scoring, purpose, intended population, pricing, and administration.
Online Database
This small collection is to be used by students and researchers for the review and evaluation of commonly used tests and assessment tools. These tests are not for administering in a classroom. Tests are located in the Curriculum Collection on the 2nd floor of Andersen Library. Visit the Collection Policies page for information regarding tests in Andersen Library.
Some departments have placed tests on Reserve. Search the Reserves link on the Library Homepage.
Search the online catalog for test by name, subject, or browse the collection by using the following search strand as illustrated below.
If you know the title of the test, start your search at the Library Homepage.
Enter the test name and use the dropdown menu to select Books, Media & more (UW Whitewater).
If you do not know a specific test name, enter a key term such as:
You may narrow your search to the Test Collection itself, although a few tests are located in other collections.
To do so, use the Location limits on the left side of the results page.
If you do not see WW Curriculum Collection, you may need to hover your mouse cursor over the Curriculum Collection labels or click More options as pictured below.
Note the complete location information provided, as not all tests are located in the Test Collection on the 2nd floor of Andersen Library.
