Skip to Main Content
Library Home

Psychology

This page contains a list of article databases that cover topics related to Psychology.

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Psychology Article Databases

Use the following databases to find articles. If you need help using the databases see the Guides & Tutorials tab.​ For a complete list of all of the Library's article databases, go to the A-Z List of Databases.

  • Psyc­INFO Best Bet

    Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and related disciplines.

  • PsycArticles Best Bet

    Full-text articles published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycInfo.

  • ClinicalKey

    Scholarly research from 500+ journals, books, clinical condition overviews, patient education, videos, and more, covering every medical and surgical specialty.

  • DSM-5-TR

    The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 is the standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals worldwide to promote reliable research, diagnosis, treatment and patient care.

  • Education Source

    Offering full text of journals, books, videos, and education-related conference papers, as well as millions of citations. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

  • ERIC (via EBSCOhost)

    The world's largest source of education information. More than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, some linking out to full text.

  • Films on Demand

    Streaming video library with over 38,000 documentaries, lectures, and historical primary source videos, covering a wide range of academic subjects.

  • GenderWatch

    Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government, and special reports that focus on how gender affects a broad array of subject areas.

  • Google Scholar

    A bigger search tool than any of the library's databases, containing scholarly articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. Some citations and some full-text.

  • LGBTQ+ Rights

    Charting the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today.

  • LGBTQ+ Source

    Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. Specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.

  • MEDLINE with Full Text

    Scholarly research covering all aspects of biomedicine including nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.

  • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

    Descriptive information, references, and critical reviews of tests in psychology, education, business and leadership; a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially-available English-language tests currently in print.

  • Nursing and Mental Health in Video

    Videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, or psychiatric.

  • Psychology (Gale)

    Academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind.

  • Psychotherapy.net

    Streaming videos show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.

  • Psychotherapy.net (Alexander Street)

    Training videos created by and for psychotherapists, with reliable, detailed instructions for serving diverse populations and addressing therapeutic issues.

  • PTSDpubs

    Citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health responses to traumatic events.

  • PubMed
    • No password required

    Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, biology, life science journals, and online books.

  • PubMedCentral
    • No password required

    Full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

  • SAGE Journals

    Full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.

  • ScienceDirect

    Hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.

  • Social Sciences Citation Index

    This segment of Web of Science indexes major journals across social science disciplines. Tracks some citation metrics for individual articles.

  • SocINDEX with Full Text

    Sociology research, including closely related areas of study. Full-text journal articles, plus abstracts for core journals back to 1895.

  • Web of Science

    A multidisciplinary database with citations to thousands of journals, books, and published proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

  • Wiley Online Library

    Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences.  UW System funds the ebooks that are included.

Google Scholar

Another resource you can use to find scholarly sources is Google Scholar. It is searched the same way as regular Google, but you will find better quality materials when using it. Google Scholar primarily finds scholarly journal articles, but also finds books, book chapters, dissertations, and other sources published by academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, etc. You won't find everything that was created ever, or even everything that the UW-Whitewater libraries have, but it can be a useful tool.

On the UW-Whitewater campuses, Google Scholar is set up to automatically interact with Find It, a tool that will find you the full text of articles and books we have or offer you a way to borrow them for free if we do not. However, Find It does not show up for every citation that appears in Google Scholar. If no Find It link appears, try the Journal Search to see whether and where we have a particular journal, magazine or newspaper and what dates are available.

Do not pay for articles you find through Google Scholar. We can get them for you for free using ILL (interlibrary loan)!

To set up the Find It/Google Scholar interactivity on your personal desktop computer, laptop, tablet, etc. follow these instructions:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Click the three bars in the upper left corner
  • Click on Settings
  • Click on Library Links
  • Type UW-Whitewater in the textbox
  • Click on magnifying glass button
  • Click in the checkbox preceding UW-Whitewater - Find It@UW-Whitewater

Off-Campus Access

Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.

If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are: 

  1. Use the most recent version of Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browser (Edge and Internet Explorer can cause access problems)
  2. Use Citrix (step by step instructions) from this webpage: https://gateway.uww.edu
  3. Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Want to watch a video on VPN? See http://youtu.be/hE-f8-Zp7jU

Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.

UW-W Psychology Faculty Recent Publications

Mouse over the title of an article to view details. Click on the title to see more information. 

WebsiteThis link opens in a new window  |  FeedThis link opens in a new window