History 313: Women in American History 1600-1875: Books

If Andersen Library does not have the item that you need, or it is checked out, the Library can usually borrow the item from another library. The lending service you use depends upon the resource you wish to borrow. For assistance, please contact a reference librarian.

• Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
  Use to borrow articles, books, and other materials not available at Andersen Library or through UW Request. Approximate turnaround time is 2-4 weekdays for articles; 5-7 weekdays for most other items. For more information, go to the Interlibrary Loan Service web page.

• Dissertations
  Citations for dissertations are found in the Proquest databases.  The citations often include a link to the front matter including table of contents. Most Dissertations will not be loaned in their entirety.  However, individual chapters can be borrowed via interlibrary loan. Please indicate which chapter you would like to request in the 'notes' field.  If you cannot find the front matter with the citation, you can also request a table of contents through Interlibrary loan.

• Wisconsin Historical Society Library
  Items in the Wisconsin Historical Society Library are found using UW-Madison's online catalog. Most items are borrowed using UW Request. Ask a reference librarian for assistance, if needed.
  • Microfilm at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library
    To borrow microfilm from the WHS Library (located using UW-Madison's online catalog), use interlibrary loan. Ask a reference librarian for assistance, as certain information is required.

• Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and the Andersen Library's Area Research Center
  Items in the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and the various state Area Research Centers are found using the Historical Society Archives and WW ARC scope of Research@UWW. These items are borrowed via Andersen Library's Special Collections/Area Research Center (ARC). For assistance, contact the ARC at archives@uww.edu or (262) 472-5520. 

Hints for keyword searching in Research@UWW:

1. 1. To search for a phrase, place your words in quotes (" ").A phrase is any two or more words next to each other.
      For example: "united states"; "Salt Lake City"

1. 1. Use the truncation symbol (*) to get alternate endings to words
      For example: imperial* = imperial, imperialism, imperialist 

1. 1. Think of synonyms or other ways to say the same thing or to convey the same or similar ideas
      For example: corruption; fraud; profiteer  

1. 1. Link the synonyms together with the word OR (this expands your search)
      For example: corruption OR profiteer*

1. 1. Try Advanced Search to limit your search by language, publication date, other UW system libraries, and more options.

1. 1. Use the  button if the article you want isn’t full text in the database you are searching. 

1. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request an article that we don’t have online or in print from another library.