Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Law/Legal Research Resources: Articles (Law Reviews &amp; Other Periodicals)

Select Article Databases

Where should you look for articles?

Research@UWW
Research@UWW searches across disciplines for "Everything" - articles, books, ebooks, videos, government publications, etc. from all disciplines. After a search, apply limiters like date or resource type (e.g., articles, or articles and peer-reviewed journals).

Library Databases (Listed by Subjects)
UW-Whitewater's libraries subscribe to many databases that search periodical (journal, magazine & newspaper) articles, and some also search book chapters, dissertations, etc. Some are discipline-specific and others are multidisciplinary.

If you're unsure where to start, ask your professor for help choosing databases appropriate for your topic, or try these options:

Get Help from a Libraran
Ask a Librarian for suggestions by email, text, or live chat. Other options: Visit the library's Reference Desk or make an appointment with a librarian!
General (multidisciplinary) Databases

Article Databases for Legal Topics

Westlaw Campus Research
Click "Secondary Sources" and then "Law Reviews & Journals."
LegalTrac Citations and select full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers. Coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice, and taxation.

Library Databases Tagged for Law
Some databases find materials other than, or in addition to, articles.

Law Review Commons (free, public access)

Law Review Commons
Over 300 open-access law reviews, browsable or searchable.

Login to Access Library Resources

Licensed resources require login with a UWW Net-ID (same as UWW's e-mail & Canvas login). The Troubleshooting page may help with any issues.

What are Law Reviews?

Law reviews are scholarly journals published by law schools and usually edited by law school students, with guidance from law school faculty. Some have a subject focus, such as international law.

Find the Full Text

If an article's full text is not available in a database, click to see if it is available in other databases or in the libraries' print or microform collections. Or, use Journal Search for a journal, magazine or newspaper title to learn whether and where you may find its full text articles. See also the "How to Use Find It and the Journals Search" guide.

Journal Search