Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

AfriAmr/PoliSci 261: African-American Politics: Finding Background Sources

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk
Phone: (262) 472-1032
Call during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with Librarian

Get help via email

Get 24/7 assistance via live chat

Background Sources

Finding Reference Books

Reference books can be a valuable source of background information for your research topic. Use Research@UWW to search for books on your topic. After searching, use the "Add Focus: Reference Collection" link on the right hand side of the search results to limit to the Reference Collection. Reference Universe is a database that allows you to search within reference-type books in the Library. Reference Universe will give you the exact page and volume numbers for the articles on your topic and will link you to the catalog record for your book so you can find its location and call number.

Below are sample background sources for your research.

General

  • African American Almanac, Reference Collection, E185 .A37 1997
    Find articles on African American history, culture and society. If you're having trouble identifying a topic, start here.
  • Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, Reference Collection, DT14 .A37435 2005
    Find articles on African American history, culture and society. If you're having trouble identifying a topic, start here.
  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas, Reference Collection, E185 .E54 2006
    Find articles on African American history, culture and society. If you're having trouble identifying a topic, start here.

Business

  • Encyclopedia of African American Business History, Reference Collection, HD2344.5.U6 E53 1999
    Find articles on people and topics relating to African American business history.

People

  • Biography Reference Bank (H.W. Wilson) (Ebscohost) - Find biographical information on notable people from around the world.
  • Black Women in America, Reference Collection, E185.86 .B542 2005
    Find biographical information on notable black women in America.
  • Contemporary Black Biography: Profiles from the International Black Community, Reference Collection, E185.96 .C668
    Find biographical information on notable persons of African heritage worldwide.

Politics

  • Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics, Reference Collection, E184.A1 E574 2000
    Volume 2 covers African Americans and Asian Americans and offers information on people, events, movements and organizations related to government and politics.
  • Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America, Reference Collection, E185.61 .E544 1998
    Find information on civil rights topics.