Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Phylogeny: Databases

Resources for Biological Classification

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.

Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

Research@UWW Journal Search button

Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.


Databases

These databases are good for finding specific articles on a variety of subjects, which may or may not contain detailed information about the phylogeny of organisms.  I recommend starting with books or websites.

  • BioOne 
    Aggregation of high impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

  • Biological Abstracts  (Institute for Scientific Information)
    Indexing and abstracts of journals in the biological sciences.

  • PubMed
    FREE
    PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine, and includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed contains access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE, citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing, as well as some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
  • ScienceDirect College Edition  
    Extensive Full Text access to 3 Elsevier journal collections: Social & Behavioral Sciences (350 peer reviewed journals), Health & Life Sciences (890 peer reviewed journals) and Physical Sciences (600 peer reviewed journals).

  • Science Reference Center
    Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides full text access to nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books,periodicals and other science-oriented content. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

 

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.