Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Phylogeny: Books

Resources for Biological Classification

Books

Avian Molecular Evolution and Systematics edited by David P. Mindell
Main Collection QL696.5 .A95 1997

A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by Michael Allaby
Available as an online resource via Oxford Reference

The Encyclopedia of Aquatic Life by Keith Banister and Andrew Campbell
Main Oversize Collection QL120 .E53 1985

Encyclopedia of Tidepools and Rocky Shores by Mark W. Denny and Steven D. Gaines
Reference Collection QH541. 5 .S35 E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Underwater Life Aquatic Invertebrates and Fishes by Andrew Campbell and John Dawes
Available as an online resource via Oxford Reference

Genera of the Eastern Plants by Wade T. Batson
Main Collection QK 115 .B37 1975

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by Bernard Grzimek
Reference Collection QL7 .G7813 2003

Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals by Bernard Grzimek
Reference Collection QL701.2 .G7913x 1990

Inferring Phylogenies by Joe Felsenstein
Main Collection QH83 .F45 2004

The Larousse Encyclopedia of Animal Life
Main Oversize Collection QL50 .L32

Manual of Vascular Plants of Northeastern United States and Adjacent Canada by Henry A. Gleason and Arthur Cronquist
Main Collection QK117 .G49 1991

Mathematics of Evolution and Phylogeny by Gascuel Olivier
Available as an online resource via ebrary

Molecular Systematics of Fishes edited by Thomas D. Kocher and Carol A. Stepien
Main Oversize Collection QL618.2 .M65 1997

The New Encyclopedia of Insects and Their Allies by Christopher O’Toole
Available as an online resource via Oxford Reference

Phylogenetic Analysis of DNA Sequences by Michael M. Miyamoto and Joel Cracraft

Phylogenetic Trees Made Easy: A How-to Manual for Molecular Biologists by Barry G. Hall
Main Collection QH367.5 .H27 2001

Plant Classification by Lyman David Benson
Main Collection QK97 .B45

Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms edited by Sybil P. Parker
Reference Collection QH83 .S89

Tangled Trees: Phylogeny, Cospeciation, and Coevolution edited by Roderic D.M. Page
Main Collection QH367.5 .T36 2003

The Tree of Life : Evolution and Classification of Living Organisms edited by Pablo Vargas and Rafael Zardoya 
Main Oversize Collection QH366.2 .A7313 2014

Taxonomy and Ecology of Woody Plants in North American Forests by James S. Fralish
Main Collection QK115 .F73 2002

Vascular Plant Families by James Payne Smith Jr.
Main Collection QK110. 565x

Walker's Mammals of the World by Ronald M. Nowak
Reference Collection QL703 .N69 1999

Areas to Browse

Aquatic Life and Shells: Main Collection QL 403 - QL 445 and Main Collection Oversize QL 50 - QL 444

Birds: Main Collection QL 673 - QL 698 and Main Collection Oversize QL 672 - QL 698.9

Fish: Main Collection QL 614 - QL 639 and Main Collection Oversize QL 614.7 - QL 639

Insects: Main Collection QL 451 - QL 563 and Main Collection Oversize QL 463 - QL 573

Invertebrates (including worms): Main Collection QL 121 - QL 151 and QL 351 to QL 396

Mammals: Main Collection QL 703 - QL 737 and Main Collection Oversize QL 706 - QL 737

Plants: Main Collection QK 9 - QK 525 and Main Collection Oversize QK 47 - QK 495

Reptiles and Amphibians: Main Collection QL 641 - QL 669 and Main Collection Oversize QL 641 - QL 668

Book Stack Directory

Find Books on ShelvesWant to know where your book is located in the stacks of the Main or Main Oversize Collection? You can look it up on this Book Stack Directory with map.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.