Research, Citation, & Class Guides: ESL/Bilingual Education Resources: Find Articles

Research Databases for ESL/Bilingual Education

While Research@UWW is a good starting point for finding articles, you may find you have better results with specific subject databases.

Below is a list of some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles to get you started on your assignment.

ERIC (EBSCOhost)
The database contains more than 950,000 abstracts of government documents, reports, conference proceedings, standards, curriculum, and journal articles on education research and practice.

Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
“You may browse content on the EBSCOlearning site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.”.
Please see EBSCOlearning Quick Start Guide for further instructions and information.

Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
Designed for professional educators, this database includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. Also available via Badgerlink to all Wisconsin residents.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines. Use especially for topics in special education and counseling.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Covers sub-disciplines of sociology, including criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

Google Scholar
While Google Scholar is not a database, and does not provide the array of search limiters available database users, you may find that you are able to locate that elusive article through a Scholar search.
Use these directions to connect from Scholar to what UWW already subscribes to: https://libguides.uww.edu/googlescholar
Education Source
Offering full text of journals, books, videos, and education-related conference papers, as well as millions of citations. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.