Research, Citation, & Class Guides: ESL/Bilingual Education Resources: Selecting Books for English Language Learners

Ebooks for Elementary, Middle & Secondary School

Libby, by OverDrive
UW-System Account for ebooks and audiobooks. Add this to your public library Libby account for more titles. FILTER by Audience, Grade Level, and ATOS. Sign-In to see our content. see this guide for more information.

Libby - Wisconsin Digital Library Collection (Badgerlink)
All Wisconsin residents.
Ebooks for adults, teens, and kids.
Sign in with your public library card and pin. UW-Whitewater students may request a library card from Whitewater's Irvin L. Young Public Library.

Lost PIN? Need a digital library card? Not sure which library to use?
Contact your public library at https://dpi.wi.gov/pld/directories/directory

TeachingBooks.net: Complete Read-Alouds (Badgerlink)
Over 1500 complete picture books through older reader books, in audio and video format. Limit by reading level, grade, etc. Lesson plans and teacher resources.
eBook Central: Juvenile Literature
Fiction and non-fiction for upper elementary through YA.
eBook Collection, PreK-12 (EBSCOHost)
Fiction and nonfiction for children and young adults. Add a search term to the existing search to add focus.
International Children's Digital Library
This notable website presents a collection of illustrated books in numerous languages that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from around the world.
Internet Archive: Books to Borrow
Start here if you are looking for specific titles. You will need to create a free account. Use a Google account or create a unique one.
Open eBooks Project (Free:/Preview Titles)
To access the app, educators sign up and receive codes for their students. Using those codes, students can download the free Open eBooks app to mobile devices and access a library of eBooks for K-12. Only accessible to patrons using K12 school district Google account or similar. See eligibility https://www.fbmarketplace.org/eligibility-faqs/
Open eBooks: REGISTRATION (via FirstBook)
Starfall
PreK-Gr 5 books, worksheets, and curricula: "Starfall’s successful learn-to-read activities are based on teachers’ experience and research. Developed and tested in the classroom, the activities follow evidence-based methods recommended by the NICHD National Reading Panel, including explicit instruction in phonemic awareness, systematic phonics instruction, and methods to improve fluency and comprehension."
Unite for Literacy
provides free access to more than 400 original picture books, one fourth of them written in Spanish. The digital books provide audio narrations in more than 40 languages, spoken by native speakers in warm, expressive voices. The languages of narration include indigenous and endangered languages along with languages most widely spoken in the US.

Essential Databases: Children's through YA Book Selection

Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate book reviews, to help you select books for a specific interest or appropriate reading level, and to support lesson planning.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Search for children's books by keyword, author, title, awards, and reading level. Includes professional reviews. Searches may be filtered to show books held at UW-Whitewater.
Literary Reference Plus
from Badgerlink:
Offers book reviews, literary criticism, and reference information
TeachingBooks.net
Find lesson ideas, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, discussion guides, and multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.
NoveList K-8
Readers' advisory tool that helps readers choose children's fiction books. Includes full text reviews. Can be searched using NoveList.
NoveList
Readers' advisory tool that helps fiction readers choose their next book. Includes full text reviews from sources such as Library Journal and Booklist.

ESL/Bilingual Education Resources

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Ebooks for Elementary, Middle & Secondary School

Essential Databases: Children's through YA Book Selection