Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Diversity and Ethnic Studies: Library Databases

Article Databases

In addition to the databases listed below, you can access a complete listing of the Library's online article indexes and databases on the Articles & Databases webpage . These resources are available via the Databases by Subject links, or via the alphabetical listing of databases.

To search for a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper owned by Andersen Library (whether in print, electronic format, or accessed via aggregator databases like EBSCOhost) use the Journal Holdings List.

African American Newspapers
Search 270 historical newspapers published for African American communities between 1827-1998.
Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
African American Periodicals
Search 170+ periodicals written by and about African Americans. Published from 1825-1995, the publications include academic and political journals, magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
Black Drama
Approximately 1,200 rare and hard-to-find plays written from 1850-present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries.
Access provided by UW Madison.
Brill E-book Collections
E-books on a variety of social science subjects from history to religious studies, linguistics to philosophy.
Access provided by UW Madison.Subjects include Asian Studies, Biblical Studies, Ancient Near East and Early Christianity, Classical Studies, European History and Culture, Language and Linguistics, Middle East and Islamic Studies, Religious Studies, Theology and Philosophy, and Social Sciences.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Primary sources that document the relationships among peoples and the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850.
The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Ethnic Sources
Newspapers from ethnic and minority presses, covering 1982-present.
Part of Access World News subscription.
GenderWatch
Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government, and special reports that focus on how gender affects a broad array of subject areas.
Its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, is a repository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Gerritsen Collection
Large primary source collection for the study of women's history, with over 4,000 books, pamphlets, and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
International Medieval Bibliography
The major citation index to medieval studies (c. 400-1500), covering articles in approximately 4500 journals and "miscellany" volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften).
Access provided by UW Madison.
JSTOR
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
LGBTQ+ Source
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. Specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.
Music Online: African American Music Reference
Reference works, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the African American experience through music.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
The lived experiences of 1,325 women shared in diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources included.
Project Muse
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Women's Studies International
Citations for 800 essential sources from 1972-present, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature.