Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

How to Find Journal Articles: Searching for Articles by Topic

Indexes, Databases, and Research@UWW

The Andersen Library has 239 online indexes and databases and several sets of print indexes. Some are discipline specific and contain mostly scholarly articles, e.g., PsycINFO for psychology. In comparison, databases such as Academic Search Complete and the Research@UWW discovery tool cover a wide range of subjects and include citations from academic journals, popular magazines, books, and other sources. When choosing a resource to search, consider the subject area, the depth of information desired and the complexity of the question.

Most citations in our databases are more current than those in our print indexes. With the exception of news databases and JSTOR, few include articles written before 1983. The Library has one current print index.

The Research@UWW discovery tool can be used to identify online and print articles, books, and other materials held by the Andersen Library and physical items at other UW campuses.

Finding and Using Databases

Lists of the Library’s indexes and databases can be reached by clicking on the Articles/Databases tab on the box on the Andersen Library homepage. The lists are alphabetical, by subject, and by vendor.

Online databases have help screens that aid in crafting productive searches, sometimes including a thesaurus for selecting search terms. Article records in databases frequently include descriptors or subject headings, which can be effective search terms as well. Often you can click on these terms to get a list of all the articles using them.

Databases often have many full text items available in them. For article databases that do not have the text of an article you want, use the Find It button, if available, to find that text. See the Finding Articles and Journals tab, Using Find It to Locate Articles box for more information about Find It.

Finding and Using Research@UWW

Research@UWW is located on the Library homepage and can also be reached via the Articles/Databases tab.
This tool can be searched using the same strategies as most databases. When you see something you want use the View It section to see whether you can retrieve the full text online or the Get It section to see if it is physically in the Library or borrow it from elsewhere if we do not have it in print or online.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.