Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

PoliSci/AfriAmr 365: Black Political and Social Thought: Finding Articles

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk
Phone: (262) 472-1032
Call during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with Librarian

Get help via email

Get 24/7 assistance via live chat

Library Article Databases

For articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers, use the Library's article databases. Choose the database(s) you need based on your topic. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas, while others are more specialized. For example:

  • Academic Search Complete - (EBSCOhost)
    Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on a variety of topics.
  • America: History and Life with Full Text - (EBSCOhost)
    United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide. Provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals. Links are also provided with some records to the full text of the article in other databases.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch - (ProQuest)
    Articles and citations from the ethnic, minority, and native press.
  • JSTOR
    Includes many journals in the areas of African American studies, African studies, history, political science, and public policy & administration. Does not include the most recent 3-5 years for most journals.
  • Literature Criticism Online - (Gale)
    Find biographical information on authors and literary criticism of the author's works.
  • Project Muse
    Covers journals in African studies, politics & policy studies as well as other subjects.
  • Political Science Complete - (EBSCOhost)
    Articles and citations from scholarly journals and popular magazines on a variety of topics.

If you don't know which database to use, look under the Indexes and Databases by Subject links for suggested databases in your topic area. For a complete list of the Library's article databases, see the Alphabetical List of Indexes and Databases.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. It will take you to the View It section of Research@UWW.

In the View It section you will see a link to the online article. If there is no View It section look for the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries or you have to borrow it. To borrow it from beyond our libraries, click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link in that section.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If we do, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video

Finding Articles BEYOND the Mainstream Media

  • G. K. Hall Index to Black Periodicals (1999-2001): Reference Collection (Reference Indexes, A-G)
    • Index to Black Periodicals (1984-1998): Reference Collection (Reference Indexes, A-G)
  • Ethnic NewsWatch - (ProQuest)
    Articles and citations from the native, ethnic, and minority press.