Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Women's Studies: Finding Articles and Databases

Library Online Databases

In addition to the databases listed below, you can access a complete listing of the Library's online article indexes and databases via the Databases by Title alphabetical listing on the Articles & Databases webpage. You can also use the Databases by Subject links on the webpage for suggested databases in your topic area.

To search for a particular journal, magazine, or newspaper owned by Andersen Library (whether in print, electronic format, or accessed via aggregator databases like EBSCOhost), use the Journal Holdings List.

Women's Studies International
Citations for 800 essential sources from 1972-present, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations, and grey literature.
GenderWatch
Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government, and special reports that focus on how gender affects a broad array of subject areas.
Its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, is a repository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community and the changes in gender roles over the years.
Films on Demand
Streaming video library with over 38,000 documentaries, lectures, and historical primary source videos, covering a wide range of academic subjects.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Project Muse
Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
JSTOR
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
LGBTQ+ Source
Scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. Specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Letters and diaries detail the personal experiences of 1,000+ British and Irish women writing from 1500-1900, all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, and many geographical regions.
Access provided by UW Madison.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950
The lived experiences of 1,325 women shared in diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources included.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000
Books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. Updated quarterly.
Twentieth Century Advice Literature: North American Guides on Race, Gender, Sex, and the Family
Manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period
60 volumes of Romantic Poetry and extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as modern scholarly analysis.
Gerritsen Collection
Large primary source collection for the study of women's history, with over 4,000 books, pamphlets, and periodicals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
LGBT Studies in Video
Documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and some feature films covering the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
Funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.