Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Political Science 330 Public Policy Analysis: Articles

An online course guide for researching government programs as part of policy analysis for POLISCI 330

Select article databases

Where should you look for articles?

If you're unsure where to start, ask your professor for help choosing databases appropriate for your topic, or try these options:

Research Databases

Choose databases based on your program. If it has to do with schools, add education databases. If it has to do with businesses, add business databases. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas, while others are more specialized. The Databases by Subject list may help, and/or ask a reference librarian or your instructor. For a complete list of databases, see the Alphabetical List of Databases.

Recommended for most political science research topics:

See all of the databases tagged for Political Science.

Useful depending on the research topic:

Historical topics

See databases tagged for History, and the library guide on Historical Newspaper Research.

Legal topics (law review articles)

See databases tagged for Law.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. It will take you to the View It section of Research@UWW.

In the View It section you will see a link to the online article. If there is no View It section look for the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries or you have to borrow it. To borrow it from beyond our libraries, click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link in that section.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If we do, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video