Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Political Science: Websites

A Selection of Websites

American Presidency Project (UC Santa Barbara)
Free access to Presidential papers and messages, national party platforms, and transcripts of Presidential debates and White House press briefings.
American Radicalism (Michigan State University)
Selected digitized documents on the Black Panthers, Hollywood Ten, KKK, Students for a Democratic Society, and more.
Avalon Project *Yale University)
A collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government, including some older treaties, from ancient (4000bce)-21st Century.
Ballotpedia
A non-partisan "encyclopedia of American politics" with coverage of federal, state and local elections' candidates, regulations, etc.
Center for Political Studies (University of Michigan)
The Center "brings rigorous data analysis to bear on issues surrounding the integrity of democratic institutions, the role of media in society and government, and citizens’ perception of information and truthfulness in civil discourse."
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security, global finance, diplomacy, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies from international publishing institutions, government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals.
more...less...
UW-W does not have a subscription.
Constitute
"The world's constitutions to read, search, and compare"
C-SPAN and C-SPAN Video Library
C-SPAN provides content on 3 networks: C-SPAN (covers House of Representatives), C-SPAN2 (covers Senate, and on weekends becomes Book TV), and C-SPAN3 (provides additional public affairs programming, e.g., press briefings, congressional hearings and speeches, and on weekends becomes American History TV). The C-SPAN Video Library is a searchable archive of all programming that has aired on C-SPAN since 1987.
Govtrack.us
Look up status of federal legislation, information about members of the U.S. Congress including voting records, and more.
International Institute for Demoracy and Electorial Assistance
Inter-Parliamentary Union

Wisconsin

The Wheeler Report
News about the Wisconsin state legislature, actions by the Governor, and news items about state politics.

Election Information, Voter Education, and Political Party Websites

Federal Election Commission
Information and data on campaign finance, voter turnout, voting systems, and more.
Roll Call Online
Historical information & data:
- Political Party Platforms since 1840 (The American Presidency Project, University of California-Santa Barbara)
- Presidents since 1789: press releases and more (The American Presidency Project, University of California-Santa Barbara)
- The Presidential Elections From 1860-1912 (HarpWeek)
  Featuring cartoons, especially from Harper's Weekly, as well as information about the candidates and issues.
- Voting and Registration (U.S. Census Bureau) - data since 1964

Voter Education

Ballotpedia
A non-partisan "encyclopedia of American politics" with coverage of federal, state and local elections' candidates, regulations, etc.
Factcheck.org (Annenenberg Public Policy Center)
We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
League of Women Voters
The League of Women Voters of the United States encourages informed and active participation in government; works to increase understanding of major public policy issues; and works to register voters and provide them with election information through voter guides as well as candidate forums and debates.
Vote Smart
Vote Smart's mission is to provide free, factual, unbiased information on candidates and elected officials to all Americans.
MyVote Wisconsin (Wisconsin Election Commission)
Information for voters: how to register, how and where to vote (including absentee), what's on your ballot, tracking your ballot.

Political Parties

National (U.S.)

Wisconsin

Democratic Party of Wisconsin
Libertarian Party of Wisconsin
Republican Party of Wisconsin
Wisconsin Green Party
Maps (Wisconsin State Legislature)
Statewide and individual district maps of all Wisconsin Senate, Assembly, and Congressional Districts, as well as election data maps and regional area maps. All maps are publicly available to view and free to download in PDF format.

Who Are My Legislators? (Wisconsin State Legislature) - Search by address or municipality. Note that because of redistricting after the 2000 Census, some legislators serve areas only until January 2003. For example, Whitewater will be part of U.S. Congressional District 2 for the Fall 2002 elections (previously Whitewater was in U.S. Congressional District 1, and continues to be represented by Paul Ryan until January 2003).

Wisconsin Democracy Campaign -Site of a "nonpartisan political watchdog that tracks money in Wisconsin politics and advocates for campaign finance reform." Information on campaign expenditures is provided, as well as news releases.

Wisconsin Elections Commission -Includes lists of candidates, information about voting and upcoming elections, and a link to Wisconsin redistricting information. Provides MyVote WI.

Wisconsin Vote (Wisconsin Public Television, Wisconsin Public Radio, University of Wisconsin-Extension)

Political Science

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Google Search Tips

Websites

Think Tanks' Web Sites

Get Help: Contact a Librarian

A Selection of Websites

Wisconsin

Election Information, Voter Education, and Political Party Websites

Voter Education

Political Parties

National (U.S.)

Wisconsin