Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Biology 370: Aquatic Biology: Search Tips

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during spring and summer 2020. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.

Biology Search Tips

This Common Search Tips (2:16 minutes) tutorial provides an overview of commonly used keyword search tips. Generally, you will start your research with keyword searches, so it is a good idea to memorize these tips. Also, instructions for searching databases, including date and format limits and other searches types, can be found on help screens in the databases.
Sample search:

("african clawed frog*" OR xenopus) AND "bisphenol a"

Biology Database Tutorials

To access library databases, select the Articles/Databases tab on the box on the Andersen Library homepage. Here is a video tutorial that demonstrates Accessing Library Databases (0:59 minutes).

Below are some tutorials you can watch to learn how to search in databases.

How do you know whether an article is scholarly or not? Check out the Scholarly Journal, Trade Magazine, & Popular Magazine guide.