This is the largest collection of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, it offers the personal experiences of more than 1,000 women writing from the 1500 to 1900. The collection represents all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous, and the not so famous.
A collection assembled from hundreds of sources, Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples and the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
Films on Demand is a streaming video library offering access to over 38,000 titles covering a wide range of academic subjects. Content includes documentaries, lectures, instructional/curricular videos, and historical primary source videos.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
This collection brings together over 50,000 pages of full text documents, letters, photographs, cartoons, government sources, and ephemera, along with video interviews and twenty-five critical documentary essays about the rapidly changing cultural landscape of America during the decades between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
This database is a highly visual and fully searchable archive offering 150,000 pages of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations.