Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Philosophy: Articles: Databases &amp; Journals

Journal Article Databases

Religion and Philosophy (Gale) Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that cover topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. *See screenshot with tips below.*
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This segment of Web of Science indexes nearly 8,000 of the world's leading journals in arts and humanities.
This resource also tracks how many times an article has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.

Additional resources may be found by searching general, multi-disciplinary databases, e.g., Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete. Please consult the A-Z Databases list, especially databases tagged for the subject Philosophy & Religious Studies, or ask a professor or librarian for suggestions.

Religion and Philosophy Database Tips

Login to Access Library Resources

Licensed resources require login with a UWW Net-ID (same as UWW's e-mail & Canvas login). The Troubleshooting page may help with any issues.

Find the Full Text

If an article's full text is not available in a database, click to see if it is available in other databases or in the libraries' print or microform collections. Or, use Journal Search for a journal, magazine or newspaper title to learn whether and where you may find its full text articles. See also the "How to Use Find It and the Journals Search" guide.

Journal Search

Philosophy Journals in JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR is a searchable multidisciplinary electronic journal archive providing full-text access to complete runs of back issues of scholarly journals in many fields, including philosophy.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.

Titles tagged as Philosophy journals in JSTOR
Search or browse JSTOR's philosophy titles, and see the years of full text available.

Philosophy Journals in Project MUSE

Project Muse
Project Muse provides access to the full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books published by university presses and scholarly societies in many fields, including philosophy.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Project MUSE Advanced Search
Search Project MUSE's Philosophy titles by scrolling to "Research Area" (on the left) and adding Philosophy.
more...less...
test

Philosophy Journals on the Internet

American Journal of Bioethics (EBSCO)
Essays in Philosophy: A Biannual Journal
An online journal of philosophy originally created and developed by Michael Goodman, Professor of Philosophy, Humboldt State University
Minerva: An Internet Journal of Philosophy
This journal from the University of Limerick ceased in 2016, but volumes 1-19 are archived.
Techne: Journal of the Society for Philosophy and Technology (Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State Univ.)
Women Philosophers' Journal
The "International Network of Women Philosophers’ major instance of knowledge production" started in 2011