Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Religious Studies (World Religions): Articles: Databases &amp; Journals

Journal Article Databases

Religion and Philosophy (Gale) Access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. *See screenshot with tips below.*
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This segment of Web of Science indexes nearly 8,000 of the world's leading journals in arts and humanities.
This resource also tracks how many times an article has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.
Humanities International Complete Journal articles, books, and other publications in history, literature, performing arts, art history, philosophy, and theology.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
SocINDEX with Full Text Sociology research resource with gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, religion, and social work content.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.

Find more resources with general, multi-disciplinary databases, e.g., Academic OneFile or Academic Search Complete. Please use the A-Z Databases list, especially databases tagged for Philosophy & Religious Studies, or ask a professor or a librarian for suggestions.

Religion and Philosophy Database Tips

Login to Access Library Resources

Licensed resources require login with a UWW Net-ID (same as UWW's e-mail & Canvas login). The Troubleshooting page may help with any issues.

Find the Full Text

If an article's full text is not available in a database, click to see if it is available in other databases or in the libraries' print or microform collections. Or, use Journal Search for a journal, magazine or newspaper title to learn whether and where you may find its full text articles. See also the "How to Use Find It and the Journals Search" guide.

Journal Search

Religious Studies Journals on the Internet

Journal of Buddhist Ethics
(Dickinson University)
Journal of Religion and Film
(University of Nebraska at Omaha)

Religion Journals in Project Muse

Project Muse
Project Muse provides full-text access to scholarly journals and books published by university presses and scholarly societies in many fields, including religion.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Project MUSE Advanced Search
Search Project MUSE's Religion titles by adding the Research Area Religion (on the left).
more...less...
test

Religion Journals in JSTOR

JSTOR
JSTOR is a searchable multidisciplinary journal archive providing full-text of back issues of scholarly journals in many fields, including religion.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.

Titles tagged as Religion journals in JSTOR
Search or browse JSTOR's religion titles, and see the years of full text available.