Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Encyclopedias & Dictionaries for Religion
An encyclopedia of Roman Catholic doctrine, teaching and history.
Interdisciplinary Encyclopedia of Religion and Science
(Giuseppe Tanzella-Nitti and Alberto Strumìa)
Italian scholars are the primary contributors to this site, which in addition to the encyclopedia offers sections for Anthology and Documents
covering various topics in religion and science. These topics range from bioethics and evolution to miracles, pantheism and the mind-body relationship.
This site contains all 15,000 articles and illustrations from the 12-volume set of the Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published from 1901-1906.
Selected Library Reference Sources for Religious Studies
Religions of the World
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, BL80.3 .R45 2010 v.1-6 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 2010
This six-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive, global coverage of religion, both larger religious communities and the world's smaller religious outposts. 225 experts from around the globe offer entries on every country of the world, the development of each of the 16 major world religious traditions through institutional expressions, and religious unbelief as expressed in atheism, humanism, and other traditions.
Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, BL31 .E47 2004 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 2004
Since many rituals and festivals take place in public, such expressions of faith are societal as well as individual forms of human behavior. The Encyclopedia's entries are contributed by scholars from international universities and institutes, with expertise in such fields as Asian and Pacific studies, archaeology, communication studies, cultural anthropology, cultural studies, international studies, philosophy, psychological anthropology, religious studies, social anthropology, sociology and theology. The cross-cultural coverage will help foster interfaith understanding as well as present and explain unfamiliar behaviors and rituals. Also see Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices online (https://uwi-primoalma-prod.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/f/1lialos/UWI71432883240002121).
Historical Dictionary of New Religious Movements
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2012
New religious movements--commonly known as cults--are defined as organizations that have arisen within the last 200 years. Despite their often unfavorable portrayal in popular culture, new religious movements are a global phenomenon. This updated second edition traces the rise and development of new religious movements throughout the world. The main body of the dictionary consists of close to 600 entries on key figures, ideas, themes, and places related to various new religious movements.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, BL2525 .Q44 2009 v.1-3 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia outlines numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural histories of religious practices throughout American history.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
Call Number: 2nd-floor Reference Collection, BL458 .E52 2006 v.1-3 (1-day checkout)
Publication Date: 2006
The Encyclopedia covers 25 years of scholarship on the history and recent state of women's religious experience in North America, with contributions from more than 150 scholars. The encyclopedia is interreligious, interracial, and multicultural, featuring more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. Articles focus on institutions, movements, and ideas with biographical sketches interwoven into articles.
A Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion
Call Number: online
Publication Date: 2010
A Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion covers historical and contemporary figures, arguments, and terms from world religions and sources, east and west.