Skip to Main Content
Library Home

Theatre 100: Theatre Appreciation

Full Research@UWW Search Box

Research@UWW

Find Theatre Articles

To search for articles from all the magazines, journals, and newspapers the libraries subscribe to, use the libraries' article databases. Choose the best database(s) to search based on your topic. Some databases cover a variety of subject areas, while others are more specialized.

If you don't know which database to use, click on "Articles/Databases" on the libraries' homepage, then scan the subjects listed on the Databases by Subject categories. Choose one (or two). Sometimes you'll want options from the Theatre & Dance category, but not always. It depends entirely on your topic and your information needs.

Theatre Databases - The best places to start your theatre research

  • Academic Search Complete Best Bet

    Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.

  • JSTOR Best Bet

    An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.

  • Academic OneFile (Gale)

    Peer-reviewed, full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines.

  • Black Drama

    Approximately 1,200 rare and hard-to-find plays written from 1850-present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries.

  • Bloomsbury Cultural History

    Providing access to articles about a wide range of subjects throughout history, each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire, and the Modern Age.

  • Gale Literature

    A tool that brings together Gale's premier literary databases: Literature Criticism, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Something about the Author.

  • Humanities International Complete

    Full text of hundreds of journals, books, and other published sources from around the world, as well as millions of citations from the Humanities International Index.

  • Literary Reference Plus

    A comprehensive literary reference which offers information from over 1,000 books and monographs, literary encyclopedias, and hundreds of literary journals.

  • MLA International Bibliography

    Modern Language Association's citations to scholarship in literature (criticism and theory), modern languages, linguistics, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television, and theater.

  • Music Online: The Qwest TV Collection

    Highly curated collection of live performances covering the evolution of jazz and beyond.

  • National Theatre Collection

    Materials from the UK National Theatre’s Volume I archive: high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material.

  • Project Muse

    Full text of over 600 scholarly journals and over 30,000 books in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

  • SAGE Journals

    Full-text access to hundreds of peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Health Sciences; Life & Biomedical Sciences; Materials Science & Engineering; and Social Sciences & Humanities.

  • Wiley Online Library

    Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences.  UW System funds the ebooks that are included.

View More Results

Other Useful Databases