Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Art Education (PreK-12): Literature Connections for Art

Find Books in the Curriculum Collection

To find out what is available in the Andersen Library Curriculum Collection, type in a keyword:

art
painting
museums
Grandma Moses

... any key word related to art.

Tap Remember All Filters at the left of your search results to continue searching only Curriculum Collection resources.

Children's Literature and Art Connections

TeachingBooks: Art Collection
Picture book, fiction and nonfiction titles relating to art and artists, from board books to books for older readers. Includes lesson plans and book resources.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database: Art
The books in this list are selected for readers and budding artists ages 5-7. Some titles can be used to inspire art projects directly, while other selections tell of famous artists and popular art forms that may be unfamiliar to young readers.
Children's Literature About Art in Andersen Library Curriculum Collection
Children's Literature Research@UWW Search for PreK-12 Books About Visual Arts:
Search for art OR artist* OR paint* OR museum* in the Subject or Title fields.

Selecting Children's Literature

Looking for award-winning books or books at a specific...

grade level?
reading level?
interest level?

Deciding whether a book is appropriate requires research. These databases will help you by allowing you to search by levels, themes and topics, and more.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
Use this tool to limit your search to specific reading levels and more. Includes reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 27 sources of reviews including The Cooperative Children's Book Center [CCBC]. Note especially themed book lists.
Cooperative Children's Book Center (CCBC)
Located at UW-Madison; supports teaching, learning and research related to children’s and young adult literature. Note especially themed book lists.
Database of Award-winning Children's Literature
Covers 102 awards from United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland.
Novelist and Novelist K-8
is a reader advisory database for readers of all ages. Search by grade level, subject searches, academic standards, and more. (Badgerlink)

TeachingBooks.net
- This link opens in a new window
includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment. It also offers multimedia resources such as original movies of authors and illustrators and audio excerpts of professional book readings.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.