History 364 - Modern European Women's History: Secondary Sources

Hints for searching in an article database:

1. Put phrases in quotation marks (“ ”). A phrase is any two or more words next to each other.
   For example: “united states”; “sierra leone”
2. Use the truncation symbol to get alternate endings to words
   For example: imperial* = imperial, imperialism, imperialist
   • The most common truncation symbol in the article databases is the asterisk (*). However, the symbol can be different, so if you don’t know for sure which symbol to use, ask a reference librarian.
3. Think of synonyms or other ways to say the same thing or to convey the same or similar ideas
   For example: corruption; fraud; profiteer
   
   • Then link the synonyms together with the word OR (this expands your search)
     For example: corruption OR profiteer*
4. Narrow your search by joining ideas together using the word AND
   For example: madagascar AND military
5. Combine the AND and OR search by putting the synonyms in parentheses
   For example: war AND (fraud OR profiteer* OR corrupt*)
6. Use the  button if the article you want isn’t available in full text in the current database you are searching. 
7. Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request an article that we don’t have online or in print from another library.
   

Most databases have both full text articles and article citations. When an article is not available in full text, use the  button to determine if Andersen Library has the article. 

Click the Find It button displayed near article citation.

You will be linked to Research@UWW away from the database you are searching in. 

1 of 3 options will be available to you:

1.) If we have access to the article, a link to the article in the database that it is available will display under the View It tab.

Simply click on the link provided, and you will be linked to the full text article to view in a library database.

2.)If we only have access to the article in print, the Get It tab will display. This will show you the location of where you can find the article in Andersen Library.

3.) If neither of the first two options are available, you will see a link that says We can get it for you! (Document Delivery/Illiad) under the Get It tab.

Simply login with your Net ID, and click request. We will do our best to find the article for you by requesting a copy from another library. This is available free of charge to students and faculty. Please allow up to 3-4 days for your request to be filled. Articles can be accessed by logging into My ILLiad located on the library homepage. You will receive an e-mail to your UWW e-mail account when the article becomes available.

This video, created by the North Carolina State University Libraries, is a concise explanation of what peer reviewing is and the role it plays in publishing. Closed-captioning is available for this tutorial.

Peer Review in Three Minutes (3:15)

How do I know if a journal is peer reviewed?

Some article databases allow you to limit to peer-reviewed journals when searching. If you cannot limit to peer-reviewed journals, use the Ulrichsweb database to look up the title of the journal. Ulrichsweb will show whether a journal is "refereed," which is another word for peer review. Access to this database is restricted to UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff.

Remember, not all articles in peer-reviewed journals go through the peer-review process. Once you find an article in a peer-reviewed journal, you must then determine if the article is scholarly. If the article is scholarly, and it is in a peer-reviewed journal, then that article was peer reviewed.