The UWW libraries subscribe to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine, and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations, and the like. Other library databases contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian in person, over the phone, by email, or through chat for assistance.
The libraries' databases and Research@UWW can be used on and off campus 24 hours a day. You will be prompted to enter your Net-ID and password to gain access.
Below are a few of the key computer science databases you may wish to search first. Find more by selecting the Computer Science Databases webpage.
Sample search in library databases:
"big data" AND ("social media" OR facebook) AND teen*
The Full-Text Collection of all publications from the Association for Computing Machinery, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.
Note: Chrome is recommended at this time; Firefox may show erratic behavior.
A collection of full-text journal and magazine articles covering computing, technology, and engineering.
This segment of Web of Science indexes journals across many scientific disciplines. Tracks some citation metrics for individual articles.
Hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
A multidisciplinary database with citations to thousands of journals, books, and published proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Full-text access to journals, books, and research resources, covering the humanities and life, health, social, and physical sciences. UW System funds the ebooks that are included.
