Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Computer Science - Graduate Students: Find Articles

Access Library Databases

During your time at UW-Whitewater you may need to use the libraries’ databases for information for class assignments.

To access these collections of materials from the UWW homepage, select the “Libraries” link.

undefined

The libraries subscribe to databases that give you free access to peer reviewed articles, books, videos, and more. In order to access them, click on the “Articles/Databases’” button.

undefined

Now you arrive at the entire list of the libraries’ databases in alphabetical order. You can select the first letter of the name of a database you want from the alphabet. You can also navigate using the dropdown menus at the top. For example, use the Subjects menu to view lists of databases recommended for broad categories, such as Computer Science or other categories relevant to your research, such as Business or Physics. You can also use the Database Types menu to limit to a type of resource you want to use, such as film/video or e-books.

undefined

Don’t hesitate to contact the library with any questions.

 

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.

Off-Campus Access

Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

The first time you click on a database name, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (just like you do to access your UW-W email, WINS account, and Canvas courses). After a while of non-use you will be timed out. Just sign in again.

If you have issues logging in or accessing online full text articles and books, please check the Troubleshooting section of our Get Help page for known issues. The three most common solutions are: 

  1. Use the most recent version of Chrome, Firefox, or Safari browser (Edge and Internet Explorer can cause access problems)
  2. Use Citrix (step by step instructions) from this webpage: https://gateway.uww.edu
  3. Use the VPN (Virtual Private Network). Want to watch a video on VPN? See http://youtu.be/hE-f8-Zp7jU

Note: Research@UWW does not require that you sign in at first. However, you should sign in anyway after your first search for seamless access to more full text and to Request/UW Request borrowing.

Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

Research@UWW Journal Search button

Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.


Google Scholar

Another resource you can use to find scholarly sources is Google Scholar. It is searched the same way as regular Google, but you will find better quality materials when using Google Scholar. It primarily finds scholarly journal articles, but also finds books, book chapters, dissertations, and other sources published by academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, etc. You won't find everything that's out there or even everything that the UW-Whitewater libraries have, but it can be a useful tool.

On the UW-Whitewater campuses, Google Scholar is set up to automatically interact with Find It, a tool that will find you the full text of articles and books we have or offer you a way to borrow them for free if we do not. However, Find It does not show up for every citation that appears in Google Scholar. If no Find It link appears, try the Journal Search to see whether and where we have a particular journal, magazine or newspaper and what dates are available.

Do not pay for articles you find through Google Scholar. We can get them for you for free using ILLiad!

To set up the Find It/Google Scholar interactivity on your personal desktop computer, laptop, tablet, etc. follow these instructions:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Click the three bars in the upper left corner
  • Click on Settings
  • Click on Library Links
  • Type UW-Whitewater in the textbox
  • Click on magnifying glass button
  • Click in the checkbox preceding UW-Whitewater - Find It@UW-Whitewater

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.