Skip to main content
site header image

Safety 493: Air Pollution: Hazardous Air Pollutant assignment

An online research guide for use with Prof. Vosburgh's Safety 493 class

Use the Hazardous Air Pollutants list from the EPA to get the scientific name and the CAS number. These both may be useful to search. 


You may also want to use Google Scholar to start your search. We don't have as much control over our search in Google Scholar, but it's BIG! 

Don't pay for articles or other materials found on Google Scholar -- use this guide to connect Scholar to UWW resources. 

Environmental Article Databases

Search in these databases for chemical information about the pollutant, as well as what it does to animals or the environment. (Human effects are going to be more common in the medical databases -- next box.)


Remember to search by Subject heading -- sometimes called Thesaurus or Subject Terms -- to find articles where your compound is a major subject, not just a word mentioned once or twice. 

Medical Databases

Search these databases for the human adverse effects or impacts of your air pollutant.


Remember that since several of these databases come from Ebsco, you can do a combination-search of multiple databases at once. (You can't effectively use Subjects when combining databases, however.)  Look for the Choose Databases link above the search box: 

Peer Review in 3 Minutes

This video from North Carolina State University explains how the peer-review process works.

Reference & Instruction Librarian

Naomi Schemm's picture
Naomi Schemm
Contact:
Andersen Library, room 2105A
Hyland Hall office hours, no appointment needed: Hyland lobby
Mondays, 12:30-2:00 / Tuesdays, 10-11:30
262-472-5519

Chat with a Librarian!

Chat with academic librarians worldwide about your research