It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ITSCM 465: Global Operations Strategy: Identify a Country & its Capacity
A guide to assist students in Dr. Prasad's ITSCM 465 class, fall 2020.
Data projections by IHME, the well-respected Institute for Health Metrics & Evaluation at the University of Washington. Choose your country from the top drop-down menu, then look especially at the Hospital Resource Use section.
Free datasets from Statista, one of the library's reliable stats databases. Scroll down to the "Detailed information on the countries impacted by the pandemic" section to see if your country has a Dossier.
Now, go over to the second tab on this guide for Identifying a Product. When you're done there, come back here :-)
Finally, study your country's capacity to produce these products.
You will not find one single article that says "Egypt can produce and distribute X million vials of remdesivir!" or whatever your product is.
Instead, you will need to follow a process:
Look at the BOM for your product -- its component parts
Consider any storage, transportation, timing, constraints, or other needs for those components.
We are not considering the second-level, sub-sub-components, or raw materials needed. So in other words, if you are looking at medical face masks, they are most often made of spun polypropylene -- you only need to consider where you would source the polypropylene, not the raw plastics needed to produce the polypropylene.
Search the literature carefully and read through many articles that might mention small details related to that country's production.
Try lots of different search words and combinations. Keep track of what you are using, and make a note of search terms that are effective. Yes, this is time-consuming. That's why it's called research!
Start your search for articles in the library databases below.
You probably are most interested in scholarly journals, so limit to that in your search results first. However, trade journals and even some business-related news might have press releases related to a certain company that is a major supplier for some product, so check those too.
Trade Journals -- are similar to popular magazines, but targeted to people working in that specific industry. E.g., Modern Grocer, Beverage World.
Scholarly Journals -- usually provide academic, peer-reviewed, independently quality-tested research. E.g., Journal of Supply Chain Management.
Current Newspapers or Magazines-- most current, breaking information, press releases, earnings reports from companies, etc. E.g., Milwaukee Business Journal, Forbes, Entrepreneur.
The Business Premium Collection includes ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Accounting Tax & Banking Collection, Asian & European Business Collection, Business Market Research Collection and the Entrepreneurship Database. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Business Source Complete offers peer-reviewed sources, business related journals, and full-text coverage (plus indexing and abstracts) for important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.
ScienceDirect provides full-text access to hundreds of Elsevier's peer-reviewed journals, and indexes thousands more, in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life and health sciences, social sciences, and the humanities.
Try Google Scholar to find academic resources. Google Scholar is BIGGER than any of the above library databases. (Bigger = more irrelevant results, though!)
1. Choose Settings (the gear icon), then Library Links
2. Type in Whitewater and click Search
3. Check the box next to University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
4. Click Save
Now you should see the Find It @ UW-W link next to some Google Scholar results, to get to full text for free.