Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Children's & Young Adult Literature

Chapter Books

For one assignment you are asked to read books from each of the categories below.

Begin with your textbookEach of the types of books below is described in depth along with examples. Use Research@UWW to find out whether titles listed are in Andersen or another UW System library.

Here is a summary of finding strategies covered in class and on this guide:

Chapter Books: 

Strategy 1: Walk to the Library!

  1. Walk to the Easy Book section in the Curriculum Collection on 2nd floor.
  2. Look for books that are 40-100 pages, usually smaller format books - not picture books.

Strategy 2: CCBC Choices lists

  1. Look at the CCBC Choices for the previous years. Each year's edition is located toward the bottom of the CCBC Choices page or on Minds@UW. There are also copies located at the Reference Desk.
  2. Open the document/publication to the chapter "Books for Newly Independent Readers." These will most likely be chapter books.

Note: Look at the section in your textbook about transitional books. There is a list of examples in the appendix. According to your textbook, these "lie somewhere between picture books and full-length novels"(p. 105). Characteristics listed include:

  • uncomplicated writing style and vocabulary
  • illustrations on about every third page
  • chapters
  • enlarged print
  • average length of about 100 pages (p. 105)

Historical Fiction

Strategy 1: Use the Catalog, Research@UWW
  1. Start at the Library Home page
  2. Select dropdown: Books, Media & More (UW Whitewater)
  3. Use the Advanced Search. Change Any Field to Subject.
  4. Type: history AND fiction
  5. Refine Results: Scroll to Location and check either or both locations:

         5. Look at the Subject headings to make sure it is historical fiction.

Strategy 2: Use Novelist K-8

Novelist is a Badgerlink database, available to Wisconsin residents. Public libraries and schools use it to help patrons find book titles they might want to read. Any one can use this! You can access it through Badgerlink.com, but for now:

  1. Go to Novelist K-8
  2. At top, Click Browse By and select Realistic Fiction or Fantasy

Poetry

Strategy 1: Go the the Non-Fiction section, starting with call numbers 811

Strategy 2: Some poetry books are in the Easy Book section. Try this search and REFINE by location:

"children's poetry" AND "picture books"

Strategy 3: Some novels are written in poetry form. Try this search and REFINE by Location --> Fiction:

poetry AND "juvenile fiction"

Informational Text

Strategy 1: Browse the Collection

Go to the Library, 2nd floor. Visit the Curriculum Collection Non-Fiction section

Strategy 2: Search for a topic

For grades 4 and above, try this:

  1. Go to the Library Home Page
  2. Type a simple topic term (e.g. pollution; women; ferrets; sports)
  3. REFINE results by Location: Curriculum Collection Non-fiction

For grades 4 and below, try this:

  1. Go to the Library Home Page
  2. Type a simple topic term (e.g. pollution; women; ferrets; sports), and add AND literature
    1. ‚ÄčFor example: dogs AND literature
  3. REFINE results by Location: Curriculum Collection Easy

Biography

Strategy 1: Browse the Collection
  1. Go to the Library, 2nd floor. Visit the Curriculum Collection Non-Fiction section
  2. Go to the 921 call numbers. They are organized alphabetically by the person's last name.
Strategy 2: For grades 4 and below, try this:
  1. Go to the Library Home Page
  2. Type biography, then Search
  3. REFINE results by Location: Curriculum Collection Easy