Research, Citation, & Class Guides: ITSCM 456: Global Supply Chain Management (Dr. Land): Finding Research

Article Databases

Search for articles that relate to your issue. You will probably find most useful, in order of preference:

Trade Journals -- are similar to popular magazines, but targeted to people working in that specific industry.
E.g., Modern Grocer, Beverage World.
Current Newspapers or Magazines -- most current, breaking information, press releases, earnings reports from companies, etc.
E.g., Milwaukee Business Journal, Forbes, Entrepreneur.
Scholarly Journals -- usually provide academic, peer-reviewed, independently quality-tested research.
E.g., Journal of Supply Chain Management.

All of these types of articles can be found using either of the databases below.

Watch the video below if you need a refresher on how to search for these.

ProQuest One Business
- This link opens in a new window
Online business library database of millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. See Vendor's guide for useful information.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, business trade journals, and news, in both full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts dating back as far as 1886.
It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.

Regional Business News
Regional business magazines, newspapers, and wires from Canada and all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed journals, business trade journals, and news, in both full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts dating back as far as 1886.
It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
A variety of statistics on a wide range of topics, both U.S. and international.
Census Data
- This link opens in a new window
The official data portal of the U.S. Census. Use the profiles of a particular geographic area (city, town, county, state) to get insights into the unique population characteristics.

Census Reporter
Not the "official" census page, but this page provides nice visualizations of census data, more user-friendly for reporters and other people.

Data-Planet
- This link opens in a new window
An extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data, both U.S. based and international.
Access provided by UW Madison.
USA Trade Online
USA Trade Online is a service of STAT-USA and the Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau. It provides monthly or annual information on U.S. imports and exports of more than 18,000 commodities.
If you want to know what specific country is on the other end of our exports or imports, use the UN Comtrade search.
Note: Create a FREE personal account to see the data. Click on the "Sign-Up Now" button and follow their directions.

UN Comtrade
- This link opens in a new window
Official trade statistics and analysis. Annual trade statistics since 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.

Atlas of Economic Complexity
Excellent visualizations of overall trade flows, specific commodities or industries, between countries.

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
IBIS World has some international industry profiles. Check for the international supply issues related to your industry.
World Bank Open Data
- This link opens in a new window
Access to all available World Bank datasets, including World Development Indicators and Global Financial Development.

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for every country in the world.
more...less...
Entries for countries label the type of legal system in the "Government" Section. Field Listing: Legal System describes the legal systems noted. Use the "References" tab for explanations of terms used elsewhere in the country profiles, e.g., the government types.

IMF eLibrary Data
- This link opens in a new window
Use the Direction of Trade Statistics section to find what the trade balances are, for any particular commodity, between any two countries in the world.