Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

English 102: College Writing (Prof. Ulevich): Finding Articles

Research@UWW

Research@UWW  is a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of articles, books, ebooks, government documents, media, images, and more. It includes many, but not all, of the Library's databases. If you need more specialized information or want to look at a database not searched by Research@UWW, search individual databases.

Log in after your first search to ensure you're seeing all available citation and have seamless access to full text and UW Request borrowing.

Research@UWW

Library Databases

The UWW libraries subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate periodical (journal, magazine and newspaper) articles, as well as book chapters, dissertations and the like. Other databases the library has contain legal cases, business information, and more. Online databases and Research@UWW are two ways to find recent articles. If you need older articles, or cannot find any articles on your topic using Research@UWW or online databases, Ask a Librarian in person, over the phone, by email, or through chat for assistance. Databases and Research@UWW list articles that may or may not be owned by the Library. Databases, Research@UWW, and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus.

Below are a few databases you may wish to search individually. Find more by selecting the Articles/Databases button on the box on the Library homepage and choosing a subject or database name.‚Äč

Sample search in library databases:

"extreme sport*" AND (wom* OR female*)

Google Scholar

Another resource you can use to find scholarly sources is Google Scholar. It primarily finds scholarly journal articles, but also finds books, book chapters, dissertations, and other sources published by academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites.

On the UW-Whitewater campus, Google Scholar is set up to automatically interact with Find It, which is also available in most library databases when the full text of a particular article is not available right there. However, Find It does not show up for every citation that appears in Google Scholar. If no Find It link appears, try the Journal Search to see whether and where we have a particular journal, magazine or newspaper.

To set up the Find It/Google Scholar interactivity on your personal desktop computer, laptop, tablet, etc. follow these instructions:

  • Go to Google Scholar
  • Click the three bars in the upper left corner
  • Click on Settings
  • Click on Library Links
  • Type UW-Whitewater in the textbox
  • Click on magnifying glass button
  • Click in the checkbox preceding UW-Whitewater - Find It@UW-Whitewater
  • At this point, you may also wish to set up a relationship with Open WorldCat - Library Search. This would help you determine which libraries hold a particular book or dissertation.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button Find It to determine whether and where Andersen Library has a specific article, and order it if necessary.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section to view articles online or Get It to see if the article is physically in the Andersen Library. If it is not, you may choose to order the article using ILLiad, which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the library's homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.

Off-Campus Access

Databases and the full text content they contain can be accessed both on and off-campus. When off-campus, you'll be prompted to log into the proxy server with your UW-W Net-ID and password (same as you use to access UW-W e-mail and Canvas courses). If you have issues with logging in to the proxy server, please check our Troubleshooting page for known issues.

Research@UWW can also be accessed both on and off-campus. It does not require that you sign in, however, you will want to do so anyway as it allows you to then access more full text and use UW Request seamlessly.

Search for Articles @ UWW (New)

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for articles at UW-Whitewater.


Search for Articles @ UWW


Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

Are you are looking for a journal, magazine, or newspaper? Use the Journal Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries have it. Start by typing a periodical title (not an article title) in the box below.


Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.