It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History 321: The History of Black Migration: Primary Sources
An online course guide for finding library resources in History 321.
To find primary sources in Research@UWW, type one or more search terms that define your topic, as well as a term used in subject headings for primary sources, such as diaries, personal correspondence, interviews, sources, or personal narratives. For example: holocaust and diaries.
"Perhaps the greatest migration in America's history is the movement of African Americans from the southern states to the urban Northeast and Midwest during the first half of this century. Motivated by racial violence and a failing economy in the South, this legendary exodus has informed the work of some of the greatest black writers, including Richard Wright, Arna Bontemps, Mary McLeod Bethune, and W. E. B. DuBois. Never before, however, has the totality of this pivotal black experience been captured in a single volume." "Up South gathers a vast range of documents and photographs - from letters and turn-of-the-century items in the Chicago Defender, Crisis, and Opportunity, to scholarly research and selections from some of the finest American literary writing, including work by Zora Neale Hurston, James Weldon Johnson, and Ralph Ellison, as well as Wright, DuBois, and Bontemps." "Malaika Adero has selected and introduced these works in a way that highlights the scope and drama of the watershed "exodus up south" A unique resource for students and teachers of urban and American studies, this volume is also a moving and eye-opening anthology of African American literature, scholarship, and journalism from the first half of this century."
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995, features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
The Gerritsen Collection is the largest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages. The collection includes the full text of over 4,000 books, pamphlets, and periodicals.
This database is a highly visual and fully searchable archive offering 150,000 pages of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations.
Women and Social Movements in the United States brings together books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women's reform activities. The resource, which examines perspectives on women's social movements from Colonial times to the present, is updated on a quarterly basis by adding new document projects, book and website reviews, related teaching tools, and more documents.
There are many other digital collections/archives available online and the numbers of these collections grow daily. Try doing a google search for your topic + "digital collections" and focus on initiatives done by university libraries, the library of congress, national archives, and non-profit organizations
The Negro Motorist Green Book was a travel guide that listed lodgings, tailors and other businesses that welcomed black patrons during Jim Crow. The guide, which was launched in 1936 and published for nearly 30 years."
African American Newspapers,1827-1998, enables users to search more than 270 historical newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries for African American communities. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society, and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times is a full-image archive that brings you the entire historical run of the newspaper from 1851-2016. The database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF.
(Marist College) This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. The content is available for free, though it is at the discretion of the institution providing the content. The newspapers contained within guide are those that have ceased to operate or are currently running papers with archives available.