Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

English 102: Finding Books

This is a general library guide for English 102 courses

Research@UWW

Research@UWW is a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of books, ebooks, government documents, media, articles, images, and more. It includes many, but not all, of the Library's databases in addition to records for all physical materials in UW System libraries. 

Log in after your first search to ensure you're seeing all available citation and have seamless access to full text and UW Request borrowing.

Research@UWW

Sample Research@UWW Searches

Sample keyword searches:

"doll house" AND henrik AND ibsen

"doll house" OR dukkehjem

Search for Books, Media, & More @ UWW

Use this box to quickly search Research@UWW for books, media, and more at UW-Whitewater.


Book Stack Directory

Find Books on ShelvesWant to know where your book is located in the stacks of the Main or Main Oversize Collection? You can look it up on this Book Stack Directory with map.

Ebook Central Search

Ebook Central, is a large ebook database subscribed to by the Andersen Library. It contains over 120,000 online books on a wide variety of topics. Search it by typing your query in the box below. 

EbscoHost eBooks Search

This database is a collection of online books on a variety of topics. Search the full text of Ebsco's eBook Collection by typing your query in the box below:

Search EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Gale eBooks Search

Search full text of Gale Virtual Reference Library ebooks by typing your query in the box below:

Use Reference Universe to find Reference Books

Reference Universe is different from most Andersen Library databases in that it looks for entries in reference books, such as encyclopedias, owned by the Library. Reference Universe works when searched using simple methods, such as searching for a few words or a phrase.

Sample searches:

wright richard

new mexico

After running a search, click on "X Index Entries" or "X Article Titles" to get the volume and page numbers of the entry and then either click on "Locate this Book" to get the location and call number for a print book in the Andersen Library or the ebook button next to the entry for an online book.

 

 

Enter your search terms:

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Search Oxford English Dictionary

DARE

The Dictionary of American Regional English is handy for many reasons, including finding localisms and slang.

Get Help: Ask a Librarian

Andersen Library Reference Desk

Phone: (262) 472-1032

Call or visit during Reference Desk Hours

Make an Appointment with any Librarian

Get help via email

Get help 24/7 with Ask a Librarian Chat*

*UW-W librarians staff are staffing this chat service on an irregular basis during winterim 2021. You may chat with non-UW-W librarians at any time, and we will follow up if needed.