Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

GenEd 130: Individual and Society (Denning): Finding Scholarly Articles

Articles

The below databases will help you find the three scholarly articles you need for your assignment. These databases are a small percentage of those the library subscribes to. You can use the links provided at the top of each box to see more of the databases available to you on the same broad subject.

These databases contain information on a variety of materials. To just identify scholarly articles or peer reviewed scholarly articles select the appropriate facet on the left side of the database display.

Anthropology Databases

In addition to the ones listed here you can look in more Anthropology Databases at Andersen Library.

Gender Studies Databases

In addition to the ones listed here you can look in more Women and Gender Studies Databases at Andersen Library

Psychology Databases

In addition to the ones listed here you can look in more Psychology Databases at Andersen Library.

Sociology Databases

In addition to the ones listed here you can look in more Sociology Databases at the UW-Whitewater Libraries.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it. It will take you to the View It section of Research@UWW.

In the View It section you will see a link to the online article. If there is no View It section look for the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries or you have to borrow it. To borrow it from beyond our libraries, click on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link in that section.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journals Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.). If we do, click on the link provided to the periodical and then search the periodical for it.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journals Search guide or watch this How to Use Find It video

Journals Search (Find our periodicals)

Research@UWW Journal Search button

Have you found the citation for an article you want in another article's bibliography or on Google Scholar? You can use the libraries' Journals Search to see whether and where the Whitewater libraries has the periodical (journal, magazine, or newspaper) that the article came from. Start by typing the periodical title (not the article title) in the box below. This is also available from the libraries' homepage.