Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Turabian Style

Theses and Manuscripts

Examples in this guide are provided for footnote citations (N) and bibliography (B). Footnotes and bibliography format contain most of the same elements but are formatted slightly differently.  For example, notes use paragraph (first line) indentation, and the bibliography entries use hanging indents. If you cite one source multiple times, you may use shortened notes for citations after the first one -- see directions here.

Jump to specific examples in the table below: 

Theses or Dissertations Manuscripts & Papers Online Collections

 


Theses or Dissertations 

If online, not in an institutional repository or a database: Provide URL in place of the name of a repository or database.

N:

15 period Guadalupe Navarro-Garcia comma quotation mark Integrating Social Justice Values in Educational Leadership colon A Study of African American and Black University Presidents quotation mark   parenthesis PhD diss period comma University of California comma Los Angeles comma 2016 parenthesis  comma 44 comma ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global period

B:

Navarro-Garcia comma Guadalupe period quotation mark Integrating Social Justice Values in Educational Leadership colon A Study of African American and Black University Presidents period quotation mark  PhD diss period comma University of California comma Los Angeles comma 2016 period ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global period

 

 

Manuscripts & Papers

If more than one item from a collection is cited in notes, cite the collection in the bibliography, not the individual items. Identify document types other than letter, such as telegram, memorandum, etc. (Letter may be omitted, as it is understood if no other document type is specified.)

End with a URL for materials consulted online.

N: 

18 period Century Pen Company financial report comma 1922 comma box 1 comma folder 9 comma James Nelson Humphrey Papers comma University Archives & Area Research Center comma Harold Andersen Library comma University of Wisconsin-Whitewater comma Whitewater comma WI period

B: 

James Humphrey Nelson Papers period University Archives & Area Research Center comma Harold Andersen Library comma University of Wisconsin-Whitewater comma Whitewater comma WI period

 


Online Collections

N:

19 period Delavan colon Detective Investigation Report 1 comma June 23 comma 1917 comma page 5-6 comma Anti-Saloon League of Wisconsin Records comma 1917-1918 comma Series 1 colon Investigations comma Wisconsin Historical Society comma Madison comma WI comma http://content.wisconsinhistory.org/cdm/ref/collection/tp/id/41742  period

B:

Anti-Saloon League of Wisconsin Records comma 1917-1918 period Series 1 colon Investigations period Wisconsin Historical Society comma Madison comma WI period http://content.wisconsinhistory.org/cdm/ref/collection/tp/id/41742  period