Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to library resources, lots of economic data, domestic and international, is freely available online. This page contains links to just a few potential sources.
Data.Census.Gov is the Census Bureau's data access point. Starting in July, 2019 data.census.gov will be the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
American FactFinder (AFF)
will remain as an "archive" system for accessing historical data until spring 2020.
It provides tools to look up, view, and deliver data, reports, tables, maps, and fact sheets on United States population, economy, and industry statistics. Large and small scale geographies, eg., states, counties, places, census tracts, and blocks can be searched.
Statista offers data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides users with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau's webpage has information and statistics on regional, national, and international economic issues.
Find freely available economic time series data in one convenient location.
Statistical office of the European Union.
Global Financial Stability Report
This semi-annual report from the IMF's International Capital Markets Department reports on market developments and issues. The Statistical Appendix especially includes GDP figures, capital flows (direct investment, etc.), data on the securities markets, and much more.
International Financial Statistics
The International Monetary Fund's IFS database contains data on exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer prices, interest rates, and other economic indicators.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development features its books, papers, and statistics. Content will no longer be updated after August 31, 2019.
UN Comtrade is a repository of official trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. It contains annual trade statistics starting from 1962 and monthly trade statistics since 2010.
World Bank Open Data
This portal provides access to all available World Bank datasets, including World Development Indicators and Global Financial Development.