It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Economics 489: Senior Capstone: News & Articles
A guide to assist students in the Economics Capstone class.
An online bibliographic database of Economics papers on the internet. Look for green icons for ones that are freely available; red icons mean it is in a subscription source only, but it may link to UW-W's holdings.
Formerly known as ABI/Inform, this collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Business Source Complete offers peer-reviewed sources, business related journals, and full-text coverage (plus indexing and abstracts) for important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. It can also be searched using Enhanced Interface Searching.
Funding provided by the College of Business & Economics.
JSTOR is a multidisciplinary electronic journal archival project. It provides full-text access to many complete runs of back issues of scholarly journal titles -- not usually current dates, but great coverage for historical content.
Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
Good for general industry statistics and entrepreneurial information (see Operating Conditions, Competitive Landsape, and Key Statistics chapters in particular)
One specific citation
If you have one specific citation, like this:
Hummels, D. (2007). Transportation costs and international trade in the second era of globalization. The Journal of Economic Perspectives, 21(3), 4-154. http://dx.doi.org/10.1257/jep.21.3.131
Use this Find Journals tool to search for the journal name first -- in this case, the Journal of Economic Perspectives -- then browse or search within that journal to find the specific article.
Google Scholar is also great at finding one specific article. Use the directions on the second tab of this guide to link from Google Scholar to what we have access to through our UW-W subscriptions.
Current News and Magazines
Most of the content in these databases is NOT peer-reviewed, and thus may not be usable for your capstone. However, it can be useful if you need to research how an economic topic is being presented to the general, i.e. non-economist, public.
ProQuest Newsstream offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. It includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper.
This database provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. It incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
What is a scholarly source?
The biggest difference between scholarly and popular (e.g., newspapers, magazines) sources is that scholarly sources go through a rigorous quality check before being published, a process called Peer Review. Watch the video below to learn about it.
Research @ UWW
Research@UWW is our biggest search -- it will include most of our Economics databases listed to the left, but not all.
Use these "smart searching" strategies to adjust your results:
Add more search words to get fewer results
Quotation marks around phrases to get fewer results NFL draft = 129K results. "NFL draft" = 56K results
Truncation (using the asterisk to find all possible endings of a word) to get more results econom* finds economic, economics, econometrics...