Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Communication 422: Communication Theories: Citing

APA Style

You must cite sources from which you quote or paraphrase in your research paper. For rules and examples of the APA citation style, look here:

Sometimes students will use online citation formatters provided free on the Web or within a library database. If you use one of these online formatters, remember that they are not foolproof. You will need to review your citations to make sure they are correct. UW-Whitewater's libraries have a guide that lists some of these citation formatters.

Citing Help in Research@UWW

Research@UWW offers help with formatting citations for your paper's Reference List. Always use these citations with care! They usually have a disclaimer that the citations need to be checked for formatting errors, especially with respect to names, capitalization, and dates. YOU are responsible for fixing any formatting errors. Here's an example:

Citing Help in ProQuest Databases

Citation help for article (APA Style) in EBSCOhost databases

Example of research article in EBSCO database search results: You can see citation elements, subject headings, and a link to full text (in this case, PDF). You may click the image to go to this item in the Communication & Mass Media Complete database.

screenshot of research article in EBSCO database search results

If you click the title, you may see an abstract summarizing the article and additional subjects. You also have options on the right to print, email or save; get formatted citations; get a durable link to this article's record; or the option to save the article to your EBSCO account.

screenshot of article abstract in EBSCO database

If you click "Cite" on the right, you can select from the styles offered, which include APA. Be sure to check the citation for errors and make corrections. In the example here, the title of the article is incorrectly capitalized.

screenshot of citation help for article in EBSCO database

Citing Help in JSTOR

Display the article in JSTOR, click "Cite this item" on the left, and then copy the citation for the style needed. Make any needed corrections!

APA Style