Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Communication 422: Communication Theories: Finding Articles

Library Article Databases

Besides Research@UWW, Andersen Library subscribes to many databases that can be used to locate journal articles, although some also find book chapters, dissertations, magazine and newspaper articles. Some databases contain legal cases, business information, and more.

The full text of articles in search results may or may not be accessible via Andersen Library. Request articles not available using ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan).

Databases and available online full-text articles can be accessed both on and off-campus (with a UWW Net-ID login).

Access more databases by selecting Articles & Databases from the Find menu on any Library webpage.

It is worthwhile to be both comprehensive and detailed when searching. Be thorough by using synonyms and truncation when there are multiple ways to refer to an idea. Be focused by using "AND" to combine different ideas together.

Sample search in Academic Search Complete:

"interpersonal communication" AND (wom* OR female*)

Research article example in EBSCOhost databases

Example of research article in EBSCO database search results: You can see citation elements, subject headings, and a link to full text (in this case, PDF). You may click the image to go to this item in the Communication & Mass Media Complete database.

screenshot of research article in EBSCO database search results

If you click the title, you may see an abstract summarizing the article and additional subjects. You also have options on the right to print, email or save; get formatted citations; get a durable link to this article's record; or the option to save the article to your EBSCO account.

screenshot of article abstract in EBSCO database

If you click "Cite" on the right, you can select from the styles offered, which include APA. Be sure to check the citation for errors and make corrections. In the example here, the title of the article is incorrectly capitalized.

screenshot of citation help for article in EBSCO database

Research Plan Worksheet

You can use this worksheet to plan your research.

Find the Full Text

journal articlesMost databases have some full text articles in addition to article citations. When an article is not available in that database, use Find It button button/link to determine whether and where the UWW libraries have it.

In Research@UWW, go to the View It section of an article's record.

In either case, look in the View It section next to see if there is a link to the online article. If it is not online, scroll down to the Get It section to see if the article is physically in one of the UWW libraries. If it is not available either way, you may order the article by clicking on the We Can Get it for You (Document Delivery/ILLiad) link which will appear in the Get It area.

If you are not in a database or Research@UWW, use the Journal Search (also on the libraries' homepage) to determine whether and where the Library has a particular periodical (journal, magazine, newspaper, etc.), then search the periodical for the desired article.

How? Check out the How to Use Find It and the Journal Search guide.