Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Philosophy 281: Social Philosophy: Find Articles in Databases

Journal Article Databases to Start With

Religion and Philosophy (Gale)
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that cover topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. *See screenshot with tips in another box.*
JSTOR
An archival full-text multi-disciplinary journal database, covering over 60 academic disciplines in more than 2400 scholarly journals.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
This segment of Web of Science indexes nearly 8,000 of the world's leading journals in arts and humanities.
This resource also tracks how many times an article has been cited since publication, finds relevant items which share one or more cited references, reviews cited references that link to a full record display, and searches all cited authors.

Complete A-Z List of Philosophy & Religion Databases
Best databases (collections) to use for researching philosophy and religion topics.
A-Z List of General (multidisciplinary) Databases
Best databases (collections) to use for researching multidisciplinary topics. If your topic is cross-disciplinary, also search databases in those subject areas (history, education, literature, etc.).
ALL Databases: A-Z Listing
Browse or search the list for databases that fit with your over-arching subject area, or choose an option from the Subject menu.

Here are some special tips to increase your effectiveness when researching using Gale databases such as Religion and Philosophy.

The search results default is to show you articles from magazines, so select "Academic Journals" to see scholarly articles.
Select individual article titles to see the full text.
If you see "Citation Only" or "Abstract Only" select the purple "Find It" button to see if you have access to the full text elsewhere for free.

Hints for searching in an article database:

Put phrases in quotation marks (“ ”). A phrase is any two or more words next to each other.
For example: “united states”; “sierra leone”
Use the truncation symbol to get alternate endings to words
For example: imperial* = imperial, imperialism, imperialist
- The most common truncation symbol in the article databases is the asterisk (*). However, the symbol can be different, so if you don’t know for sure which symbol to use, ask a reference librarian.
Think of synonyms or other ways to say the same thing or to convey the same or similar ideas
For example: corruption; fraud; profiteer
- Then link the synonyms together with the word OR (this expands your search)
  For example: corruption OR profiteer*
Narrow your search by joining ideas together using the word AND
For example: madagascar AND military
Combine the AND and OR search by putting the synonyms in parentheses
For example: war AND (fraud OR profiteer* OR corrupt*)
Use the button if the article you want isn’t available in full text in the current database you are searching.
Use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request an article that we don’t have online or in print from another library.

Use these databases to find articles about current issues from newspapers and other sources.

CQ Researcher
In-depth, authoritative, informative & persuasive reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923.
Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography, and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Access World News Research Collection
Database with global, national, and regional news, featuring newspapers, newswires, magazines, and video in English and many other languages.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text access to articles from over 7,000 journals (including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals), magazines, and reference sources.
“You may browse content on the EBSCOlearning site before registering. Once you locate an individual learning resource (tutorial, practice test, article, flashcards, or e-book), that you would like to use, you will be prompted to register before you can access it. Registration also gives you access to “My Center,” where you can save any learning resource in progress for future completion, or to reuse an item.”.
Please see EBSCOlearning Quick Start Guide for further instructions and information.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Contextual topic overviews and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Links to content from magazines, academic journals, news, primary sources, multimedia, and vetted websites.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a searchable multidisciplinary electronic journal archive providing full-text access to complete runs of back issues of scholarly journals in many fields, including philosophy.
Coverage varies by publication but typically begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.

Partial funding for Collections V and VI from the Russell Moratz estate. Partial funding for Collection VII provided by Student Technology Fees.

Philosophy Journals in JSTOR
Search or browse JSTOR's philosophy journals. Each journal's range of available years' full text included.