Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Journalism 305/505 History of Mass Communication: Getting Materials from Other Libraries

Request Materials Be Sent Between UW-Whitewater Libraries

Request library items be sent from one UW-Whitewater campus library to the other (1-2 weekdays)

UW-Whitewater students and staff can have "returnable" items like books or DVDs sent from Rock's Lenox Library to Whitewater's Andersen Library, or from Whitewater to Rock! Log in to Research@UWW with a UW-Whitewater Net-ID, search for the item in the UW-Whitewater catalog, click on the title, and under "Get It" click "Request." Select your pickup location (UW-Whitewater for Andersen Library, or Rock County Library) and then click "Send Request" to submit the request.

Screenshots of request process steps 1 Click to sign in with UWW Net ID 2 Click Request 3 Select pickup library UW Whitewater for Andersen or Rock campus and then click Send Request

Note: UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff receive messages in their UW-Whitewater email when requested items may be picked up.

Request Materials from Beyond UW-Whitewater Libraries

If the UW-Whitewater libraries do not have a needed item, or if it has already been checked out by someone else, UW-Whitewater students and staff may be able to obtain the needed item from another library with the free "UW Request" or "ILLiad" interlibrary loan services. For assistance or answers to questions, please ask a reference librarian.

UW Request - borrow items from other UW schools' libraries (2-5 weekdays)

Use to borrow "returnable" materials such as books, videos, and government documents--if not available at either UW-Whitewater library--from other UW System Libraries. It cannot be used to borrow non-circulating items (such as books on course reserve) or articles from periodicals or journals. UW Request is free, and materials arrive within 2-5 weekdays. More information and instructions are available in the How to Borrow from Other Libraries library guide.

Screenshots of request process steps 1 Click to sign in with UWW Net ID 2 Click UW Request 3 Select pickup library UW Whitewater for Andersen or Rock campus and then click Send Request


Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) - get scans of articles or book chapters, or borrow "returnable" items from non-UW libraries

2021/COVID note: BORROWING PHYSICAL ITEMS IS AVAILABLE, but may be slower than usual until more libraries are lendingRECEIVING PDFs OF SCANNED ARTICLES AND BOOK CHAPTERS IS AVAILABLE TOO.

Use to request scans of book chapters or articles from newspapers, journals, and magazines. Also use to borrow books and other "returnable" materials that are not available from any UW campus library. ILLiad requests are free. Approximate turnaround time is 2-4 weekdays for articles/book chapters to be available online, and 5-7 weekdays for most physical items. More information and instructions on use are available in the How to Borrow from Other Libraries library guide.

Note: UW-Whitewater students, faculty, and staff receive messages in their UW-Whitewater email when requested items are available. Electronically delivered items, e.g., scanned articles or chapters, are available in ILLiad for 30 days, so save or print them to have them longer.

ILLiad Interlibrary Loan: Getting Articles from Other Libraries

If UW-Whitewater's libraries do not have the full text of an article in a newspaper, journal, or magazine, either in library databases or in print/microform collections, UW-Whitewater students and faculty'staff may submit a free ILLiad interlibrary loan request for an article so that another library will be asked to scan it.

Approximate turnaround time is 2-4 weekdays for articles. Important note: A scanned item stays in your ILLiad account for 30 days only, so save it to keep it longer!

More information: Interlibrary Loan service web page or How to Borrow From Other Libraries guide. Get help from a librarian.

Borrow from Wisconsin Historical Society Library or Archives

Find items in the Wisconsin Historical Society Library using UW-Madison's online catalog. Most items are borrowed using UW Request, but exceptions are below.

  • Microfilm at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library (historical newspapers)
    To borrow microfilm located using UW-Madison's online catalog, use interlibrary loan. Ask a reference librarian for assistance, as certain information is required; call (262) 472-1032 or visit the Reference Desk.
  • Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and Area Research Centers
    Items in the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and the various state Area Research Centers are found using the Historical Society Archives and WW ARC part of Research@UWW. They are borrowed via Andersen Library's Archives & Area Research Center (ARC). For assistance, contact the ARC at archives@uww.edu or (262) 472-5520.