Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Journalism 305/505 History of Mass Communication: Wisconsin Historical Society

Finding and Borrowing Items from the Wisconsin Historical Society

FINDING: The Wisconsin Historical Society (WHS) is on the UW-Madison campus. Both its Library and its Archives are important for historical research. The Archives provides access to unpublished materials about the history of Wisconsin and major topics related to U.S. history such as mass communications and social action movements, while the Library provides access to published materials [such as books, pamphlets, and newspapers] documenting North American history. For more information on the holdings in the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives and Library, see its About the Library-Archives webpage.

To search the WHS library and archives, as well as the various state Area Research Centers, either search UW-Madison's online catalog, then above the search results click Refined by "Libraries" and select "Wisconsin Historical Society Archives" (screenshot at right), or search the Historical Society Archives & WW ARC part of Research@UWW.

BORROWING:  If an archival/area research center item is held at UWs other than, or in addition to, Madison, click on the title to see which campuses have it. Such items are borrowed via Andersen Library's Area Research Center (ARC). Library items found in Madison's catalog are borrowed via UW Request or interlibrary loan. Which borrowing option to use depends upon the item; see the Getting Materials from Other Libraries section of this guide to find out how to obtain the item you need, or contact a reference librarian.

UW Madison Catalog Search Results Refined by Libraries

As described in the box at left, "Finding and Borrowing items from the Wisconsin Historical Society," after searching UW-Madison's library catalog, limit the search results to those from the Wisconsin Historical Society by clicking Libraries under "Refined by." Select the Archives.