Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Journalism 305/505 History of Mass Communication: Articles

Select article databases

Where should you look for articles?

If you're unsure where to start, ask your professor for help choosing databases appropriate for your topic, or try these options:

Article databases recommended for this class (in addition to Research@UWW)

Historical newspaper articles: see the Historical Newspaper/Magazine Articles section of this guide.

Start with these databases to find scholarly journal articles for this class:

Find the Full Text

If an article's full text is not available in a database, click Find It button to see if it is available in other databases or in the libraries' print or microform collections. Or, use Journal Search for a journal, magazine or newspaper title to learn whether and where you may find its full text articles. See also the "How to Use Find It and the Journals Search" guide.

Research@UWW: Limiting to Peer-reviewed Journal Articles

From search results, see available filters or limits on the left. Select as needed by clicking boxes to the left, e.g., date. To limit results to scholarly journal articles, select Articles under Resource Type as well as Peer-reviewed Journals under Show Only. When done selecting filters, click the green Apply Filters button at the bottom.

screenshot of limit options that appear down the left side of search results