Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to library resources, lots of economic, trade and development data, domestic and international, is freely available online. Contact your librarian for help finding more specific or obscure datasets. This page contains links to just a few potential large-scale data sources.
Data.Census.Gov is the Census Bureau's data access point. Starting in July, 2019 data.census.gov will be the primary way to access Census Bureau data, including upcoming releases. After July 1, 2019, all new data (previously released on American FactFinder) will be released on this new data platform.
American FactFinder (AFF)
will remain as an "archive" system for accessing historical data until spring 2020.
It provides tools to look up, view, and deliver data, reports, tables, maps, and fact sheets on United States population, economy, and industry statistics. Large and small scale geographies, eg., states, counties, places, census tracts, and blocks can be searched.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau's webpage has information and statistics on regional, national, and international economic issues.
IN-PERSON USE ONLY. Visit the Financial Investment Center in Hyland Hall to access Bloomberg terminals, where you'll find financial data and analytics. Contact your faculty advisor to get access to the lab.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The repository contains more than 18.9 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations providing access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form.
A searchable database with comprehensive visualizations of data drawn from many different sources. Data is US demographic and geographic focused -- cities, counties, states; jobs and industries; universities and schools.
Called the "social network for data people," this relatively new site lets you sign up and share datasets with other researchers, or download datasets that may have been manipulated or changed to be just what you need for your own research.
Direction of Trade Statistics
The Direction of Trade Statistics shows current figures for import and export values, and which country is the seller or recipient of those trades.
Find freely available economic time series data in one convenient location.
Statistical office of the European Union.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
Historical time series data for the U.S. economy which includes daily U.S. interest rates, CPI, PPI, GDP, monetary data, exchange rates, balance of payments and more. Data may be exported into Excel or text files.
Global Financial Stability Report
This semi-annual report from the IMF's International Capital Markets Department reports on market developments and issues. The Statistical Appendix especially includes GDP figures, capital flows (direct investment, etc.), data on the securities markets, and much more.
International Financial Statistics
The International Monetary Fund's IFS database contains data on exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer prices, interest rates, and other economic indicators.
The Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development's (OECD) monthly publication has national account data, industrial production data, Consumer Price Index, Producer Price Index, earnings, interest rates, international trade and much more. Covers the 33 OECD member countries along with Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa. The Library has volumes back to 1970, but there is quite a bit of recent data is available for free on the OECD Statistics Portal (http://www.oecd.org/statistics/).
A commodity trade statistics database from the United Nations Statistical Division.
World Bank Open Data
This portal provides access to all available World Bank datasets, including World Development Indicators and Global Financial Development.