Research, Citation, & Class Guides: CIGENRL 320: Second Language Acquisition : Find Articles

Find the Full Text

When the full text of an article is not immediately available in the database you are searching, you have three options:

1. Tap the button or link to locate it or be directed to a Request form.

How to Use Find It: Step by Step

2. Install the LibKey Nomad tool to more seamlessly connect to articles found in databases, Google Scholar, and elsewhere. You only have to do this once. Tap here for instructions or view the video:

How to Install and Use LibKey Nomad

3. If Andersen Library does not have access to a book, journal or article, request it via ILLiad (Inter-library Loan).

A-Z Journal List
Tap to search for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper.

Research Databases for Education-Related Topics

While Research@UWW is a good starting point for finding articles, using education databases will provide fewer, but more focused results.

Below are some suggested databases to search for locating journal articles to get you started on your assignment. Visit A-Z Databases for a complete list.

Academic Search Complete Multi-disciplinary database which provides more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. Even though this is a general database, some educational topics are covered.
Education Research Complete This EBSCO database includes the Cited References feature.
Educational Administration Abstracts covers areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, management, research and other key areas.

ERIC Provides access to of government documents, reports, conference proceedings, standards, curriculum, and journal articles on education research and practice.

Professional Development Collection Designed for professional educators, this database includes more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 800 journals. Also available via Badgerlink to all Wisconsin residents.
PsycArticles Provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations.
PsycINFO Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines. Use especially for topics in special education and counseling.
SocINDEX with Full Text Covers sub-disciplines of sociology, including criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text Restricted to 4 users at a time Provides full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus with coverage back to 1985. This database is useful for topics related to coaching, physical and health education.

Connect Google Scholar

If you feel you must surf the web for your research, use Google Scholar to set up scholarly resources on your topic. Use the instructions below to customize Google Scholar so it will connect you to many of Andersen Library's scholarly subscriptions.

CIGENRL 320: Second Language Acquisition : Find Articles

Find the Full Text

Research Databases for Education-Related Topics

Connect Google Scholar

Connect Google Scholar: Tutorial