Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Web Sites
Archive of Early American Images
(The John Carter Brown Library, Brown University). Browse the alphabetical listing of keywords, or browse by category (what, where, who, when). Or, search by keyword via the Basic or Advanced Search screens.
Documenting the American South
(University Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill). Provides access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Includes fifteen thematic collections of primary sources. Click the Collections link on the website for more information.
Early Americas Digital Archive
(Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities). This site is "a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820." Click the Archive box to browse/search the site, or to reach the Advanced Search screen, which has limits such as subject, person as subject, period, and geographic location.
(Virginia Foundation for the Humanities). A web site on the history and culture of Virginia. This site "publishes topical and biographical entries written by scholars . . . and vigorously fact checked. Entries are accompanied by primary documents and media objects, including images, audio and visual clips. . . ." Search by keyword or browse the A-Z index.
Salem Witch Trials: Documentary Archive and Transcription Project
(Benjamin Ray and The University of Virginia). This project is "an electronic collection of primary source materials relating to the Salem witch trials of 1692 and a new transcription of the court records."
The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record
(compiled by Jerome S. Handler and Michael L. Tuite, Jr.; sponsored by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and the University of Virginia Library). This database includes more than 1,200 images related to slavery. Use the Explore the Collection link to search by keyword or browse by category.
The Geography of Slavery in Virginia
(Tom Costa and The University of Virginia). This site "contains more than 4000 advertisements for runaway slaves and indentured servants, drawn from newspapers in Virginia and Maryland, covering the years from 1736 through 1803." It also "offers a number of other documents related to slaves, servants, and slaveholders, including court records, other newspaper notices, slaveholder correspondence, and assorted literature about slavery and indentured servitude."