Research, Citation, & Class Guides: HEALTHED 745: Exercise and Health: Article Databases

Article Databases: Physical Education & Sports

For articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers, use the Library’s article databases. Below is a list of some suggested databases to try for research in this course.

Visit the complete listing of all UW-Whitewater Databases by Subject - Education and also Kinesiology & Sports.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Provides full text for more than 490 journals. Try this database for topics related to physical education.
Partial funding provided by Student Technology Fees.

ERIC Provides access to of government documents, reports, conference proceedings, standards, curriculum, and journal articles on education research and practice.

APA PsycInfo
contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology, as well as psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and more.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Article Databases: Medicine

Alt HealthWatch
Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.

CINAHL PLUS with Full Text
Provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. Covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Clinical Key
delivers answers from a large collection of e-books and over 500 journals in medical and surgical specialties, including sport psychology, physical therapy, wheelchair sports, nutrition, etc.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides nearly 520 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Access provided by Wisconsin DPI via Badgerlink.
APA PsycInfo
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and books in psychology and related disciplines.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.

Peer-reviewed Articles

Peer-Reviewed vs. Trade Journals vs. Popular Articles: What's the difference? (graphic)

Identifying Types of Articles: Explained (video)

Peer Review in Three Minutes: What is peer review? (video)

refereed Ulrichsweb: How can I identify whether a journal is peer-reviewed? Search for a magazine or journal by title. If it is identified with a referee shirt, it is a refereed publication, and most articles in the publication will be peer reviewed.

Search Tips: Searching with Key Words

Here are some search tips to remember when searching the databases.

1. Be sure to mark the "peer reviewed" or "scholarly" limit when searching for peer reviewed articles.

2. Use quotation marks around phrases (e.g. "health education", "type II diabetes")

3. Use the word "AND" between different concepts.

4. Use the word "OR" between similar concepts.

5. A common truncation symbol in the databases is the asterisk symbol *. Using this will allow you to search for various forms of the word in one step. For example, strateg* will search for strategy, strategies, strategize, and strategic.

Here are some example searches:

("experimental methods" or "nontraditional education" or "experimental teaching") and autism
(treatment* or strateg* or approach* or method*) and "Prader Willi Syndrome"
"health education" and (certif* or credent*)