It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Information Technology & Supply Chain Management: Company & Industry Info
This guide is a starting point for Information Technology and Supply Chain Management resources.
Directions: Use the ReferenceUSA > Businesses module. It contains profiles of more than 20 million public and private businesses, both large and small.
Use the Quick Search to search for a specific company name. Add a state if needed to limit results. If your list has many results, look for the Corporate Tree icon and look for the parent company.
Directions: Go to the Menu at the top, then Company Dossier to search for one specific company profile.
Nexis Uni contains company information from Hoover's and Standard & Poor's, as well as legal cases and news publications.
Partial funding provided by UW System Shared Electronic Collection.
Hoover's Company Profiles provides information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them. It covers more than 40,000 companies and delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
IBISWorld provides a comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings and offers valuable insight into America's 700+ industries. Access is available to US Industry Reports, US Specialized Industry Reports, Global Industry Reports, US Risk Ratings Reports, US Risk iExpert Summaries, US Risk Scores Listing, and US Business Environment Profiles. It also includes RMA Annual Statement Studies data.
Search for the industry, your company name for its role in the industry, or some consumer info.
Also check their Digital Market Outlook for digital-focused industries -- e.g. online gaming, music, videos, social media.
Get access to the Economic Census (released every 5 years), as well as economic indicators and data by sector.
Public or Private?
The first step in company research is to determine the legal status of the company. This will determine the amount of information that is available as well as the sources to use. Nexis Uniis a good resource for determining legal status.
→ You can find much more right away for public companies because of required disclosure to the government and shareholders.
→ Private companies enjoy the right to not give any details, specifically any financial data.
Many business reference sources such as company directories or industry analyses use the federal government's numerical codes (SIC or NAICS) to describe types of businesses. Use the links below to identify your code, and thus help identify who else is in your industry:
Crosswalk from one version of NAICS to another, or from NAICS to International SIC.
The purpose of trade associations is to represent and promote the interests of its members. The organizations produce reports that examine the industry and its key players (often its own) and also provide statistics. Associations Unlimited enables you to search for local, regional, national and international groups.