Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Geography 100: Introduction to Geography: Citation & Reference Style

Chicago Style

Whether you choose to quote, summarize, or paraphrase sources you use in your research paper, you must cite each one. For guidelines and examples, look here:

Chicago Manual of Style Online: Citation Quick Guide
Includes a few examples in the notes and bibliography system. For each text referenced, there is a sample note, shortened citation, and bibliography entry. From the Chicago Manual of Style website.
Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Available in print at the UW-Whitewater Reference Collection and Main Collection and the Rock County Campus Library under call number Z253 .U69 2017.
Chicago/Turabian Documentation
Created by the Writing Center at UW-Madison. Based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.). How to cite sources in both the notes-bibliography system and the author-date system.
CMOS Formatting and Style Guide (7th ed.)
Created by the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). Based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
Turabian Style
Citation and paper formatting guide created at UW-Whitewater. Based on A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers.

APA Style (7th ed.)

Whether you choose to quote, summarize, or paraphrase sources in your research paper, you must cite each source you use. For rules and examples, look here:

APA Style
Citation and paper formatting guide created at UW-Whitewater. Based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.)
In print at UW-Whitewater, Reference Collection and Main Collection, BF76.7 P83 2020
Citing References: APA Style (7th ed.)
PDF guide with select examples of citations from the UW-Whitewater APA Style guide. Suitable for printing.
American Psychological Association Documentation (UW-Madison Writing Center) Created by the Writing Center at UW-Madison. Based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.)
APA Formatting and Style Guide
Created by the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). Based on the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.)

If you use online citation formatters provided free on the internet or within a library database. Remember that computer generated citations are not foolproof. Be sure to review them for accuracy.

This video has good tips for Using a Citation from a Citation Generator.

If you are writing a long paper or thesis and want help organizing your sources and citations, try Zotero or EndNote, both of which the library supports.