Research, Citation, & Class Guides: Film Studies: Gender & Film

Books Available at the Andersen Library

The Cinema of Max Ophuls: Magisterial Vision and the Figure of Woman by Susan M. White
Available at Whitewater campus library, Main Collection, 3rd Floor; PN1998.3.O64 W5 1995
Feminism and Film Theory by Constance Penley
Available at Whitewater campus library, Main Collection, 3rd Floor ; PN1995.9.W6 F45 1988
Feminist Film Theory: A Reader by Susan Thornham
Available online through above link
Freud's Drive: Psychoanalysis, Literature and Film by Teresa De Lauretis
Available online and in print.
Gays and Lesbians in Mainstream Cinema by James Robert Parish.
Available at Whitewater campus library, Reference Collection, 2nd Floor ; PN1995.9.H55 P37 1993
Gender Trouble: Feminism and the Subversion of Identity by Judith Butler
Available online and in print.
Queer Theory: An Introduction by Annamarie Jagose
UWW Whitewater Campus, Main Collection, 3rd Floor, HQ76.25 .J34 1996
Re-Vision: Essays in Feminist Film Criticism edited by Mary Ann Doane, Patricia Mellencamp, and Linda Williams.
Available at the Whitewater campus library, Main Collection, 3rd Floor ; PN1995.9 .W6 R4
Understanding Movies by L. Giannetti
Available at the Whitewater campus library, Main Collection, 3rd Floor ; PN1994 .G47 2008

Use the below Research@UWW link to find additional books.

Research@UWW - Books, Media, & More (UW Whitewater)
A catalog search for physical Library materials held in our Andersen or Rock County UW-Whitewater libraries. Includes online multimedia, ebooks, and government documents.

Books Available Through UW Request from other UW System Libraries

The following texts are not available at the Andersen Library. Visit the Research@UWW link below to search for and borrow the following texts and more for free from other UW libraries using UW Request.

The Imaginary Signifier: Psychoanalysis and the Cinema by Christian Metz
New Queer Cinema: A Critical Reader by Michelle Aaron
Out Takes: Essays on Queer Theory and Film by Ellis Hanson
Psychoanalysis and Cinema: The Melodrama of the Unknown Woman by Stanley Cavell
Sexuality in the Field of Vision by Jacqueline Rose
Technologies of Gender: Essays on Theory, Film, and Fiction by Teresa De Lauretis
Visual and Other Pleasures by Laura Mulvey
Women in Film Noir by Ann E. Kaplan

Research@UWW - Books, Media, & More (UW System)
A catalog search for physical Library materials held in any of the UW System libraries. Includes online multimedia, ebooks, and government documents.

Campus Film Studies Resources

Want More Information?

Donald Jellerson

Office: Laurentide 3217

Phone: (262) 472-1979

Email: jellersd@uww.edu

Film Studies: Gender & Film

Books Available at the Andersen Library

Books Available Through UW Request from other UW System Libraries

Campus Film Studies Resources

Want More Information?

Film Databases